Wayward Daughter: The Best Of Eliza Carthy (2CD)

Eliza Carthy

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Jazz, English Folk
June 3, 2013

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Powerful two-CD set celebrating Eliza Carthy's first twenty-one years as a professional recording musician.

To mark 21 years as a professional musician, Eliza's long-standing label, Topic Records, is releasing 'Wayward Daughter', a career-spanning best of double album, with 31 tracks drawn from her diverse and award-winning back-catalogue including traditional and self-penned material. There are also a couple of live tracks, samples of a few of her many collaborations with other artists - and previously unreleased material too.

One of this country's finest singers and songwriters and a member of a great musical dynasty, Eliza Carthy is a peerless and pioneering talent. She is the winner of 2 Mercury Prize nominations, several BBC Radio Folk Awards and innumerable other accolades. During her career she has performed and recorded with a dazzlingly diverse array of artists including Billy Bragg, Paul Weller, The Wainwrights, Richard Thompson, Bryan Ferry, Nick Cave and Joan Baez.

Press Quotes

"Wayward Daughter is a glorious celebration of Carty's two decades plus as a folk musician underlining the impact she's had on the genre. Dad and mother Norma Waterson may already be legends, but Eliza is well on the way to attaining equally lofty status" "Whatever she addresses she does so with warmth, intelligence and crate loads of personality"

Record Collector (4*)

"The trail of a folk visionary across 22 albums in 21 years. Eliza Carthy did more than anyone to revolutionise and rid folk music of the staid, cliche-ridden images stifling it through the 90's. Listening to the sheer range of styles and consistently inventive ideas pursued through this thoughtfully constructive precis of her 21 year career, it's easy to understand why"

Colin irwin, Mojo (4*)

"It's a proud career CV but more importantly it stands powerfully alone on its own considerable merits - vibrant, modern and relevant".

fRoots Magazine

"A more fearsome performer than mum or dad, or indeed anyone else on the folk scene she's helped to galvanise…a rich primer of a singular career"

Uncut (8/10)


The Guardian

"Listening to this compilation from start to finish, I found myself mesmerised by her interpretation of traditional songs. Not only is Eliza a superb singer in the traditional mould, but also she brings a depth and complexity to her interpretations of traditional songs that few can achieve. The excitement for me comes from what will arise from Eliza Carthy's artistry in the coming years. The Wayward Daughter is anything but, and her journey thus far is well worth experiencing - and her future beckons".


"Her vision remains absolutely faithful to the story and expresses the song's essential emotions. She accomplishes this with wit and exuberance - and this is her genius.. Every home should have a wayward daughter"

Songlines (5*)

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number TSCD772D
Barcode 0714822077224
Number of items 2
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 110g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 120mm x 10mm x 140mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-01-01 Worcester City -
2. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-01-02 Great Grey Back - With Tom Wright -
3. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-01-03 Two Tears -
4. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-01-04 The Rose And The Lily - Eliza Carthy & Norma Waterson -
5. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-01-05 Mr Walker - With The Kings Of Calicutt -
6. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-01-06 Colourblind - With The Ratcatchers -
7. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-01-07 Jacky Tar -
8. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-01-08 Grey Gallito - Salsa Celtica With Eliza Carthy -
9. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-01-09 Newry Town - Waterson:Carthy -
10. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-01-10 Blood On My Boots -
11. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-01-11 Billy Boy; The Widow's Wedding -
12. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-01-12 The Forsaken Mermaid - Waterson:Carthy -
13. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-01-13 I Know My Love - Eliza Carthy & Nancy Kerr -
14. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-01-14 Gallant Hussar - With The Ratcatchers -
15. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-01-15 Space Girl - Imagined Village -
16. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-01-16 May Song - Waterson:Carthy -

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
1. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-02-01 Little Big Man -
2. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-02-02 Child Among The Weeds - With The Red Band -
3. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-02-03 Rolling Sea - With Warren Ellis & The Rogue's Gallery Band -
4. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-02-04 Cold, Wet & Rainy Night; The Grand Hornpipe -
5. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-02-05 Lemady - Eliza Carthy & Martin Green, featuring Eddi Reader -
6. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-02-06 Jack Frost - Waterson:Carthy -
7. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-02-07 Willow Tree -
8. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-02-08 The Company Of Men - Orchestra arranged and conducted by Van Dyke Parks -
9. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-02-09 Adieu, Adieu -
10. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-02-10 Mother - With The Kings of Calicutt -
11. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-02-11 Crystal Spring - Waterson:Carthy -
12. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-02-12 Blow The Winds; The Game Of Draughts -
13. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-02-13 Mohair - With The Ratcatchers -
14. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-02-14 The Nightingale; For Kate - Eliza Carthy & Norma Waterson -
15. http://www.images.properonline.co.uk/Samples/0/07/071/0714822077224/0714822077224-02-15 Britain Is A Car Park -