Hardcore Jollies (LP)


of discs
Stock Status (?)
Temp Out Of Stock
Delivery Estimate
5-10 days
Soul/R&B, Funkadelic
October 6, 2014

Format: Vinyl (LP)



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Funkadelic's US R&B Top 20 Warner Bros. Debut reissued on heavyweight vinyl in a replica gatefold sleeve

Masterminded by the larger-than-life figure of George Clinton, Funkadelic was a key component of his influential P-Funk empire. Funkadelic's unique combination of Rock, Psychedelia and Soul led to the band to crossing over into the pop mainstream and gaining an international following, to become one of the most important groups in the evolution of funk.

Released in October 1976, Hardcore Jollies [US R&B No.12] was Funkadelic's ninth studio album and their first on Warner Bros. Records. Dedicated to "the guitar players of the world", it followed hard on the heels of their last album for indie Westbound, which comprised outtakes from the same recording sessions. Hardcore Jollies was also the last Funkadelic album to feature three original members of The Parliaments, vocalists Fuzzy Haskins, Grady Thomas and Calvin Simon. Arguably lighter in tone that earlier outings, way-out goofiness still abounds with standout moments including 'If You Got Funk, You Got Style' and 'Soul Mate'.

Spawning the singles 'Comin' Round The Mountain' [US R&B No.54] and 'Smokey' [US R&B No.96], the album also includes a live remake of 1973's 'Cosmic Slop', from the album of the same name. Recorded during rehearsals for 1976's P-Funk Earth Tour, this version features a vocal introduction dropped from the 1973 studio cut and features prominent guitar solos by Michael Hampton, widely considered to be among the best of his early work. Although uncredited, Hardcore Jollies also features guitarist Eddie Hazel. Artist Pedro Bell delivers the band's trademark wacky sleeve art, whilst the accompanying short story should raise a titter or two.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number CHARLYL156
Barcode 0803415815616
Number of items 1
Imported No
Weight 180g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 310mm x 4mm x 310mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1, Side 1

Song Title Time
1. Comin' Round The Mountain ( 05:48 ) -
2. Smokey ( 06:06 ) -
3. If You Got Funk, You Got Style ( 03:04 ) -
4. Hardcore Jollies ( 04:59 ) -

Track Listing — Disc 1, Side 2

Song Title Time
1. Soul Mate ( 02:45 ) -
2. Cosmic Slop ( 06:26 ) -
3. You Scared The Lovin' Out Of Me ( 06:22 ) -
4. Adolescent Funk ( 04:16 ) -