Avec Le Temps

Giovanni Guidi

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Jazz, Contemporary
March 22, 2019

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Giovanni Guidi is one of the most consistently creative pianists in Europe today, focussing inspirations from contemporary jazz and free playing in a strongly lyrical approach of his own.

Guidi's core trio with bassist Thomas Morgan and drummer João Lobo opens 'Avec le temps' with a deeply-felt interpretation of the title track, the song of love and loss by the Monaco-born poet-composer-chansonnier Léo Ferré, and closes the album with "Tomasz", a Guidi original dedicated to the late Tomasz Stanko, take Giovanni's conception of the art of the trio to the next level, extending the work begun on the critically-praised albums City of Broken Dreams and This Is The Day.

In between, the band swells to quintet size, with saxophonist Francesco Bearzatti and guitarist Roberto Cecchetto contributing to Guidi originals and group improvising in a programme of strikingly contrasting energies and colours, with outstanding playing by all participants. 'Avec le temps' was recorded at Studios La Buissonne in November 2017 and produced by Manfred Eicher.

Personnel: Giovanni Guidi: piano; Francesco Bearzatti: tenor saxophone; Roberto Cecchetto: guitar; Thomas Morgan: double bass; João Lobo: drums

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number 7706280
Barcode 0602577062803
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 114g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 126mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Avec Le Temps -
2. 15th Of August -
3. Postludium And A Kiss -
4. No Taxi -
5. Caino -
6. Johnny The Liar -
7. Ti Stimo -
8. Tomasz -