of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Folk, Americana
Sungrazing Records
May 11, 2018

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Spellbinding UK folk duo release the follow up to acclaimed debut Before The Sun, included in numerous 2016 Albums of The Year lists including the fRoots Critics Poll. Joining back up with Toronto producer David Travers-Smith (Wailin Jennys, Madison Violet, Ruth Moody) the pair create exquisite transatlantic soundscapes on which to base their beguiling, intimate indie-folk duets.

A duo who delve into the mysterious and often like to release music in line with the lunar calendar, their live show sees them huddled around a single microphone, drawing the audience in. And so it is with this magnetic album, where their own intensely moving songs flow seamlessly among reinvigorated traditional gems and the Guthrie/Bragg americana classic Way Over Yonder In The Minor Key.

Alongside their own guitars, mountain dulcimer and dobro they are joined by an all-star cast from both sides of the big pond including double bass from Jon Thorne (Lamb, Scott Matthews), vocals from Oh Susanna, Jess Morgan and Gilmore & Roberts, percussion from Evan Carson (The Willows, Sam Kelly), pedal steel from Burke Carroll (Kathleen Edwards, Justin Rutledge) and Chris Coole on banjo.

Press Quotes

"Hannah & Ben were born to play and sing together" fRoots "Magical folk harmonies" Maverick "Folk music for everyone – a masterclass in proficiency, an exercise in individuality and a declaration of love of the folk tradition from both sides of the Atlantic." Spiral Earth “Great voices, great instrumentation; a wonderful feeling for the songs.” Mike Harding "Hannah and Ben are ideally suited to play together, with Hannah's breathtakingly beautiful voice, like a young Joni Mitchell, and Ben's superb musicianship on guitar and dobro." FATEA

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number SGR003
Barcode 0634158813863
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Original release date 2018-05-11
Weight 44g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 5mm x 128mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Selkie Song 04:57
2. I Met A Man -
3. Way Over Yonder In The Minor Key 04:56
4. A Thousand New Moons 03:13
5. Every Night When The Sun Goes In 02:03
6. 7 03:25
7. Reynardine 04:42
8. Santa Fe Trail 04:58
9. Awake 02:48
10. One Grain Of Sand 05:11
11. Reaching 05:31