of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
September 23, 2013

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Munch Suite is a unique recording from acclaimed violinist Henning Kraggerud being released to celebrate the 150th anniversary of the birth of the painter Edvard Munch. It features 15 new solo pieces, every one directly inspired by a specific painting by the great Norwegian artist. Each piece has been written by a different composer, in this case some important figures on the international contemporary music scene including Aaron Jay Kernis, Alissa Firsova and Laurent Petitgirard. The CD is presented in a de-luxe edition box that includes reproductions of each painting depicted in the suite.

The idea to let contemporary composers interpret Edvard Munch's iconic artworks came from the director of the Vestfold International Festival. Violinist Henning Kraggerud immediately saw the artistic potential of the project and the result is a solo suite that reflects the unique position of Munch's work as musical inspiration. The Munch Suite features premiere recordings of 15 pieces specially written by leading contemporary composers including Aaron Jay Kernis, Naji Hakim, Olav Anton Thommessen and Rolf Martinsson. The list includes English composer Peter Seabourne and the British-Russian composer Alissa Firsova, daughter of Elena Firsova.

The work was first heard during the exhibition 'Love's Beach' in 2010 at the Haugar Art Museum near the Åsgårdstrand shores, the place where Munch found motifs for many of his paintings. A small gallery able to accommodate an audience of only 60, each piece was performed in front of 'its own' painting. In connection with the release of the Munch Suite on CD, Kraggerud has developed an exclusive concert performance in which images of the paintings are projected.

Personnel: Henning Kraggerud (violin)

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number PSC1322
Barcode 7033662013227
Number of items 1
Packaging type Box Set
Imported No
Weight 200g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 223mm x 40mm x 153mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. FABIAN MULLER: Munch's Traum(a) (The Woman) -
2. AARON JAY KERNIS: A Dance of Life (The Dance of Life) -
3. PETER SEABOURNE: Meeting (The Meeting) -
4. MARCUS PAUS: The Ladies on the Bridge (The Ladies on the Bridge) -
5. STALE KLEIBERG: Ashes (Ashes) -
6. ONDREJ KUKAL: Aftenstund (Evening) -
7. NAJI HAKIM: Fantasia over Unge mennesker på stranden (Young People on the Beach) -
8. ALISSA FIRSOVA: Moonlight over the Sea (Moonlight on the Beach) -
9. ROLF MARTINSSON: Landscape (Beach) -
10. GABRIEL KAHANE: Étude: Cobalt Cure (Bathing Woman and Children) -
11. ATHANASIA TZANOU: Blick auf das Meer (Two Women on the Shore) -
12. DANIEL NELSON: Man and Woman (Man and Woman on the Beach) -
13. MARIA KOVAL: Two People. The Lonely (Two Human Beings. The Lonely Ones) -
14. OLAV ANTON THOMMESSEN: Kiss on the Beach in Moonlight (Kiss on the Shore by Moonlight) -
15. LAURENT PETITGIRARD: Trees on the Beach (Trees by the Beach) -