A Ghost In Every Bar

Ian Shaw

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Jazz, Vocal Jazz
August 6, 2012

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


A superb collection of Fran Landesman songs, with Ian Shaw on vocals, composer Simon Wallace at the piano, and a guest appearance by trumpeter Sue Richarson on one track.

"A GHOST IN EVERY BAR, THE LYRICS OF FRAN LANDESMAN" features Shaw accompanied by the composer of 12 of the tracks in this 15 song collection, Simon Wallace. Four of these songs from the enduring Landesman/Wallace partnership have never been released before. Landesman who died in July 2011 is quoted as saying that Shaw's interpretation of the famous and much covered "Spring Can Really Hang You Up The Most", written with Tommy Wolf, was her favourite and Shaw gives a definitive rendering of this song on this collection. "Small Day Tomorrow" which Landesman wrote with Bob Dorough is also included adding further texture to the album.

The CD closes with the other classic song from the Landesman/Wolf collaboration, the haunting "Ballad Of The Sad Young Men", which is enhanced by the addition of flugelhorn (Sue Richardson). The collection is otherwise entirely voice and piano with Shaw accompanying himself on "Only Why No More", "Killing Time" and "Nothing Lasts Forever" making these particularly intimate tracks. Shaw has recorded single tracks with Landesman lyrics on six albums in his back catalogue, but this album fulfils a promise he made to her to devote an entire album to her songs. The album was engineered and produced by Neal Richardson.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number SPR014CD
Barcode 5060161950144
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 46g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 6mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Feet Do Your Stuff -
2. Only Why No More -
3. Small Day Tomorrow -
4. Spring Can Really Hang You Up the Most -
5. In A New York Minute -
6. Love Go Round -
7. In A Matter Of Moments -
8. Down -
9. Nothing Is Mine Now -
10. Scars -
11. Stranger -
12. Killing Time -
13. Noir -
14. Nothing Lasts Forever -
15. Ballad Of The Sad Young Men -