Dawn Of Possession (LP)


of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Hard Rock and Metal
Listenable Records
October 21, 2016

Format: Vinyl (LP)



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


The band formed in May 1986 by Andrew Sakowicz (bass guitar, vocals) and Dave Wilkinson (drums) under the name RIGOR MORTIS (NY). After recording the "Warriors of Doom" demo, the band changed their name to IMMOLATION in April 1988. The band signed a record deal with Roadrunner Records and released their debut album "Dawn of Possession". IMMOLATION was dropped when Roadrunner Records dropped nearly all of the death metal bands on its roster.

IMMOLATION relies on riffs written in dissonant harmonic patterns, often dueling between the two guitars, to progress songs, typically over complex rhythm and drums patterns. The riffs are often a mixture of fast tremolo picking and a lot of power chords and pinched harmonics to lay down a wall of sound that many bands have tried to use in their own music. The guitar parts are often highly complex and technically proficient. Drums parts are often written to follow the guitar riffs in a way that is unusual for most death metal.

This debut album is frequently cited as being an important and highly influential album, having laid down the blueprint that bands such as CRYPTOPSY and SUFFOCATION would follow with their respective debuts.

Produced by Harris John and wrapped up in a legendary artwork done by Andreas Marshall, IMMOLATION''s debut album "Dawn of Possession" has become a much sought death metal album by connoisseurs and aficionados.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number POSH296
Barcode 3760053842961
Number of items 1
Packaging type Slip Sleeve
Imported No
Weight 180g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 310mm x 5mm x 310mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Into Everlasting Fire -
2. Despondent Souls -
3. Dawn of Possession -
4. Those Left Behind -
5. Internal Decadence -
6. No Forgiveness (Without Bloodshed) -
7. Burial Ground -
8. After My Prayers -
9. Fall in Disease -
10. Immolation -