The Girl I Left Behind Me

India Electric Co

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Folk, Singer Songwriter
Shoelay Music
March 30, 2015

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


India Electric Company's debut album, The Girl I Left Behind Me, is the culmination of a year of writing and recording. Drawing on a theme of transience, the album explores non places, a sense of not belonging, the highs and lows of being on the fringes of society and all the associated raw emotions.

Inspired by folk themes from Eastern Europe, Africa, through to Latin America, The Girl I Left Behind Me travels through diverse styles including gypsy jazz and Irish reels, with references including Buena Vista Social Club, The XX, Thomas Bartlett and Joanna Newsom.

Whilst inevitably drawing on their own experiences as touring musicians, the lyrics borrow from Marvell, W.H. Auden, Ted Hughes and an 18th Century sea shanty. Their heritage and timelessness provide a shoulder for I.E.C.s explorations to lean on.

Using traditional instruments in unconventional ways yields a fresh, contemporary counterpoint to the roots that bind them. Subbass accordions, prepared pianos, 16 part string arrangements and a large array of hand made percussion sections take the songs to Gullivarian lands whilst giving the sparser arrangements a contrasting home of their own. The acoustics of the Devonshire barn in which the album was recorded provides a unique sonic purity and unification.

Sometimes decadent, sometimes introverted, The Girl I Left Behind Me finds a place far from the madding crowd.

Press Quotes

"...a very enjoyable album... full of surprises" ****

The Telegraph

**** "Their reeling, spinning sound corroborates the content of their songs which appear to be describing a life alive with motion. They are altogether a good thing, busy as rush hour but full of light."

The Independent on Sunday

"quirky and glittery - a veritable musical magpie's nest."

Mary Ann Kennedy, BBC Radio 3.

"Fresh and gobsmacking!"

Tom Robinson, BBC 6 Music

**** "O'Keefe is a bewilderingly talented multi-instrumentalist, it's a wonderfully provocative new title."

Songlines Magazine

"Gorgeous legs."

Chris Evans, BBC Radio 2

"A haunting collection of atmosphere, textures and layers, malleable approaches and subtly which makes a mockery of genre or any attempt to pigeonhole."

Spiral Earth

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number SHMU30
Barcode 5015333388300
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 56g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 135mm x 9mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Lost In Translation -
2. Beirut -
3. Heimat -
4. Dreams -
5. The Thought Fox -
6. I Can't Make You Love Me -
7. My Friends Are Rich -
8. Joanna, Kate And Alice -
9. Eyes And Tears -
10. Doveman -