The Joy Of Living (2LP)

Jackie Oates

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Folk, English Folk
ECC Records
September 28, 2018

Format: Vinyl (LP)



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


This double vinyl edition of The Joy of Living follows the CD release and contains as additional seven tracks as well as a USB card containing high quality sound files of all songs and photos.

Born and raised on folk music, Jackie Oates started her career as a finalist in the BBC Radio 2 Young Folk Awards in 2003. Since then she has been nominated for twelve BBC Folk awards; at the 2009 BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards she scooped Best Newcomer and Best Traditional Track on the same night.

Originally a member of The Mercury-nominated The Unthanks she has since carved out an astonishing solo career. She has toured with EMI-signed folk-pop star Seth Lakeman. She is also an established member of the all-star multi-cultural folk band The Imagined Village alongside Eliza Carthy, Chris Wood, Martin Carthy and more. In recent years, Jackie has provided vocals for the soundtrack to Michael Woods' 'The Great British Story, A People's History' on BBC2, appeared on ITV's 'Ade in Britain' and in Midsomer Murders' episode 'The Ballad Of Midsomer County'.

This, the seventh studio album by Jackie Oates, is an honest and heartfelt expression of motherhood embracing love and loss woven together into a web of life affirming magic. It covers an intensely personal period of her life, in which she celebrated the birth of her daughter Rosie and bid an emotional and loving farewell to her beloved father.

The Joy of Living features songs made famous by folk greats including Ewan McColl, Lal Waterson, Sandy Denny and Davey Steele, carefully picked songs from artists such as John Lennon and Darwin Deez as well as some of Jackie's own compositions.

She collaborated with fellow 'Imagined Village' alumni and producer Simon Richmond (Palmskin Productions, Neneh Cherry, Imagined Village, The Bays) to create this intimate, touching and uplifting collection. The album also features performances by friends from the world of folk including Mike Cosgrave, Barney Morse Brown (Duotone, The Imagined Village), John Parker, Jack Rutter (Seth Lakeman) and John Spiers (Bellowhead, Eliza Carthy). Matt Allwright (Watchdog, The One Show) also made a quick appearance playing pedal steel on this record.

The cosmetics firm Lush developed a skin tint named after her which is sold in over nine hundred shops globally.

Press Quotes

"A lot of love and emotion – and, I suspect, quite a few tears too – have clearly been expended in the making of this rather beautiful album…We can but admire the rawness of its emotion and the striking contrasts of the feelings it evokes."


More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number ECC100013
Barcode 5060214040549
Number of items 2
Imported No
Weight 600g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 315mm x 7mm x 315mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1, Side 1

Song Title Time
1. Rolling Home -
2. Freedom Come-All-Ye -
3. Spring Is Coming Soon -
4. Mother/Spring Is Coming Soon Reprise -
5. Virginny -

Track Listing — Disc 1, Side 2

Song Title Time
1. Rosy Apple -
2. The Joy Of Living -
3. My Shoes Are Made Of Spanish -
4. Unicorns -
5. Nay Ivy Nay -
6. Catch Me If You Can -

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2, Side 1

Song Title Time
1. Who Knows Where The Time Goes -
2. Hey Ho, To The Greenwood -
3. Constellations -
4. Sweet Farewell -
5. Con Amore La Mi Madre -
6. The Bird -

Track Listing — Disc 2, Side 2

Song Title Time
1. Young Ellender (Demo) -
2. Young Lambs To Sell -
3. Caroline And Her Young Sailor Bold -
4. Work Life Out To Keep Life In -
5. Jute Mill Song -
6. The Last Trip Home -