Building A Beginning

Jamie Lidell

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Pop, Soul/R&B
Jajulin Records
October 14, 2016

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Over the last 15 years, Jamie Lidell has cemented his reputation as an artist refusing easy categorization--and that restless spirit follows the British poly-genre wizard into Building a Beginning, his sixth studio album and follow-up to 2013's wild-eyed self-titled effort.

Whereas Jamie Lidell was a full-body immersion into strident electro and pop sounds, Building a Beginning is Lidell purifying himself in the waters of smooth, earthy psychedelic soul--think the subtle low end on Marvin Gaye's What's Going On, the swirling loveliness of Temptations' Cloud Nine, and the beatific radiance of Stevie Wonder, all imbued with Lidell's distinctive songwriting touch and impossibly gorgeous vocals.

Working with some of the best players in the game such as Pino Palladino (bass, D'Angelo, Peter Gabriel, Eric Clapton), DaRu Jones (drums, Jack White), Pat Sansone (multi-instrumentalist, Wilco), Kudisan Kai, Traci Brown Bailey, and Tiffany Smith (backup-vocals, Chaka Khan), production from Justin Stanley (Beck, Prince, Leonard Cohen, Paul McCartney) and Ben Ash (Two Inch Punch), mixing from Jake Aron (Le1f, Fort Lean) and most importantly from Jamie's wife, Lindsey Rome who was deeply involved co-writing all the albums incredibly personal lyrics, Lidell's raw talent is brought to the forefront.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number JJL005
Barcode 5060454945420
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 50g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 6mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Building a Beginning  -
2. Julian  -
3. I live to Make You Smile  -
4. Find It Hard to Say  -
5. Me and You -
6. How Did I Live Before Your Love  -
7. Walk Right Back -
8. Nothing’s Gonna Change -
9. In Love and Alone -
10. Motionless  -
11. Believe In Me  -
12. I Stay Inside  -
13. Precious Years  -
14. Don't Let Me Let You Go -