of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Classical, Jazz
ECM New Series
November 17, 2014

Format: Vinyl (LP)



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


'Officium' is one of the iconic albums, a recording that altered musical perceptions and became a huge international best-seller in 1994. It has sold around 1½ million copies, and is now released for the first time on vinyl, exactly 20 years after its original release on CD (4453692).

The appearance of this audiophile edition, pressed on 180g vinyl, marks the 30th anniversary of ECM New Series and the 40th anniversary of The Hilliard Ensemble. The vocal quartet and saxophonist Jan Garbarek also recorded two further albums, 'Mnemosyne' (4651222) and 'Officium novum' (4763855) and have given countless concerts around the world over the past two decades.

Before The Hilliard Ensemble disbands at the end of 2014, they make a farewell tour with Jan Garbarek, performing many Officium concerts in Europe and four in Britain, ending in the building where the live project began in 1994: King's College Chapel, Cambridge. The Hilliard Ensemble also gives three other UK concerts in December, including the Farewell Concert at London's Wigmore Hall with a repertoire of favourite pieces, some from their new album, 'Transeamus' (4811106).

Personnel: Jan Garbarek (soprano and tenor saxophone), David James (countertenor), Rogers Covey-Crump, John Potter (tenor), Gordon Jones (baritone)

Press Quotes

One of the best-selling classical records of all time.

The Guardian

Successfully transcends both time and style...enchanting.


A genuinely haunting album of rare, translucent beauty.

Time Out

An extraordinary and entrancing marriage of the ancient and modern.

Mail on Sunday

Remarkable, as much for its spiritual intensity as its musical content.

The Times

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number 4811085
Barcode 0028948110858
Number of items 2
Imported No
Weight 626g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 313mm x 7mm x 313mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Parce mihi domine -
2. Primo tempore -
3. Sanctus -
4. Regnantem sempiterna -
5. O salutaris hostia -
6. Procedentem sponsum -
7. Pulcherrima rosa -

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
1. Parce mihi domine -
2. Beata viscera -
3. De spineto nata rosa -
4. Credo -
5. Ave maris stella -
6. Virgo flagellatur -
7. Oratio Ieremiae -
8. Parce mihi domine -