The Ballad Beyond

Jez Lowe

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Folk, Singer Songwriter
November 17, 2014

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


15 new songs from North East England singer songwriter Jez Lowe, his first new album for four years. Many of these songs were among more than SIXTY new compositions written by Jez between 2006 and 2014 for the award-winning BBC Radio Two series, 'The Radio Ballads'. Some are presented here as written for broadcast, while others have been further developed beyond their original Radio Ballads role.

Also included here are songs unconnected with The Radio Ballads, and are merely things that have been recently added to Jez's concert repertoire.
All titles are newly recorded at Anomaly Studio in Newcastle upon Tyne in 2014, with accompaniment from the members of Jez's long-time band The Bad Pennies, along with some special guests who bring a new style of instrumentation to these songs.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number TTRCD113
Barcode 0080539701135
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Banjo Maggie Holland (Vocals)
Bass Guitar David De La Haye
Double Bass Ian Thompson
Guitar Rod Clements (Slide)
Other Andy May (Pipes)
Percussion Martin Douglas
Saxophone Laura Bell (Soprano & Alto)
Violin Kate Bramley (Vocals), Kari MacLeod
Vocals Christine Stockton, Paul Stockton
Weight 66g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 5mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. The Lazarus Dance 04:53
2. Tether's End 04:42
3. The Pitmen Poets 04:12
4. Berlin 36 02:30
5. Jesse Owens' Shoes 03:55
6. The Ballad Of Johnny And Dorando 06:21
7. The Morpeth Olympics 05:49
8. Unprotected 02:54
9. Candles 03:59
10. The Austerity Alphabet 04:24
11. Names 02:56
12. The Wrong Bus 03:03
13. The Town Hall Yard 03:24
14. Bother At The Hoppins 04:41
15. Lass Of Hexhamshire 03:27