The Vagrant Kings

Joe Topping

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Folk, Singer Songwriter
January 12, 2015

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Joe Topping and his band, The Vagrant Kings are a brand new group that bring a highly original and exciting new sound to the Blues, Americana and Folk scene. With sophisticated song writing, intricate bottleneck slide guitar, Hammond organ, pedal steel and percussion, all combining to create a unique and fresh musical soundscape.

The Vagrant Kings is named after the band of stella musicians Joe assembled to record this album. It was recorded in Steve Parry's home studio using Steve's wonderful collection of vintage mics. Joe Topping is a singer-songwriter who has been described as a "cross between Ry Cooder, Woody Guthrie and Paul Brady".

From the traditional music heard in the Folk clubs he grew up around, to the Americana and Blues influences from his adventures in the USA, which have included driving around America for the best part of a year and later walking 1400 miles with a guitar on his back from Chicago to New Orleans! Joe has developed his own unique bottleneck guitar style and has a voice that can move from velvet soft to steely and powerful.

Joe has played on stage and in the studio with many legends of the British folk scene including members of Fairport Convention, While and Matthews, Andy Irvine and most recently as stand in lead vocalist in the BBC2 award winning "Best Live Act" Home Service whilst John Tams recovered from surgery.

Joe also currently plays in the bands Elbow Jane and The Rainbow Chasers with Ashley Hutchings. This is his second solo album for Fellside.

Press Quotes

"This will surely be one of the the very best roots releases of the new year" - Simon Redley

Maverick (5*)

"This exceptional young guitarist and songwriter here assembles a new trio to back him on a quality assured set of authentic sounding originals drawing on approved Americana models from delta blues to New Orleans."


More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number FECD265
Barcode 5017116026522
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 56g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 5mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. No Matter Where I Ramble -
2. Cat On A Cold Slate Roof -
3. I'm Not Gonna Worry -
4. Heartbroken Blues -
5. This Love And Lack Of Money -
6. Leaves On The Line -
7. Put The Ground Beneath My Feet -
8. One Beat Away -
9. Redemption -
10. The Ballad Of William Burke -
11. Sweet Sixteen -