of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Jazz, Contemporary
September 16, 2016

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


The highly-anticipated sophomore album by twice Grammy-nominated piano prodigy Joey Alexander, showcases his remarkable development as a contemporary jazz bandleader and talent as a composer. Featuring bassist Larry Grenadier and drummer Ulysses Owens Jr., saxophonist Chris Potter joins the trio for an extended exploration of Herbie Hancock's "Maiden Voyage".

At nine, Joey won the grand prize at the first Master-Jam Fest, an all-ages competition in Ukraine, which included 200 competitors from 17 countries. By 10, he was performing at jazz festivals in both Jakarta and Copenhagen. An invitation from Wynton Marsalis led to his U.S. debut appearance at Jazz at Lincoln Center's Rose Hall in 2014, where he amazed the audience with his musicality, followed by appearances before the Jazz Foundation of America at the Apollo and the Arthur Ashe Learning Center at Gotham Hall.

His 2015 debut album for Motema Music, 'My Favorite Things', garnered two Grammy Award nominations for "Best Jazz Instrumental Album" and "Best Improvised Solo" for his performance of John Coltrane's "Giant Steps", making him the youngest jazz artist ever nominated for a Grammy.

He develops fresh takes on well-known tunes, combining them seamlessly with his own original compositions in a way which invites both new and seasoned listeners in, and reflects the true emotional heart and soul of his musical personality. Now, as he enters his teen years, Joey takes another step in charting his artistic direction with the release of 'Countdown'. Building upon the swing and improvisational style that made his first project a critical and popular success, 'Countdown' is a reflection of the growth and maturity of Joey Alexander as an artist, and a confident next step toward a limitless future.

Personnel: Joey Alexander (piano), Larry Grenadier, Dan Chmielinski (bass), Ulysses Owens Jr. (drums), guest: Chris Potter (soprano and tenor saxophone)

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number 234279
Barcode 0885150342794
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 7mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. City Lights -
2. Sunday Waltz -
3. Countdown -
4. Smile -
5. Maiden Voyage -
6. Criss Cross -
7. Chelsea Bridge -
8. For Wee Folks -
9. Soul Dreamer -
10. Think of One -