of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Jazz, Contemporary
January 19, 2018

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Saxophonist and clarinettist John Surman is often characterized as a quintessentially English improviser and composer, and hints of folk music and a pastoral ambience are attributes of his music on well-loved albums like 'The Road to Saint Ives' or his last ECM recording, 'Saltash Bells'.

Yet Surman also has a long history of working with musicians from other countries and cultures, players united by such invisible threads as a shared feeling for melody that transcends the idioms.

John Surman met pianist Nelson Ayres - known to aficionados of Brazilian jazz for his work with Airto Moreira, Milton Nascimento and Banda Pau Brasil ? while on tour in South America. In Oslo, Surman came to know and appreciate the playing of Rob Waring, expatriate US vibraphonist (recently heard on ECM with Mats Eilertsen).

The three musicians come together to play a new programme of Surman originals ? plus Nelson Ayres's "Summer Song" - in a session recorded at Oslo's Rainbow studio in July 2017, produced by Manfred Eicher.

Personnel: John Surman (soprano and baritone saxophones, bass clarinet), Nelson Ayres (piano), Rob Waring (vibraphone, marimba).

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number 6711317
Barcode 0602567113171
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 110g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 143mm x 11mm x 128mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. At First Sight -
2. Autumn Nocturne -
3. Within The Clouds -
4. Byndweed -
5. On Still Waters -
6. Another Reflection -
7. The Admiral -
8. Pitanga Pitomba -
9. Summer Song -
10. Concentric Circles -
11. Stoke Damerel -
12. Invisible Threads -