of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Jazz, Big Band
Stoney Lane Records
November 18, 2016

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Award-winning drummer and composer Jonathan Silk releases his adventurous new album Fragment this November on Stoney Lane Records -- a set of striking, dynamic originals for big band and strings.

A driving presence on the thriving Birmingham jazz scene since graduating from the city's Conservatoire in 2011, Jonathan's recording brings together key players from both Birmingham and London, conducted by fellow Scottish drummer Andrew Bain. Awarded the Scottish Young Jazz Musician of The Year in 2014, Jonathan is a rising star in UK jazz, having performed worldwide with stellar names from Soweto Kinch and Liane Carroll to Stan Sulzmann and Ian Ballamy.

From the high-octane power of the 19-strong big band alongside the graceful 13-piece string section, Fragment gives subtle nods to Jonathan's Scottish roots, his world travels and the ever-changing natural landscape.There are strong US influences on Jonathan's writing, notably Brooklyn-based drummer Jim Black and saxophonist David Binney, to mentors and celebrated composers Maria Schneider and Vince Mendoza, with whom Jonathan studied over the past three years in Los Angeles and New York. He also cites his Birmingham teachers -- Tony Levin and Jeff Williams -- as formative in shaping his writing style.

Fragment is Jonathan's second album -- and first for Stoney Lane -- following his debut self-release Uncouth in 2013. Fragment features an original artwork and painting commission by artist David Stanley.

"An exciting collection of melodious, joyful and youthful new music created by a fine young musician Jonathan Silk. I'm sure we will hear plenty more from him in the coming years. Very reassuring hearing 'the music' in such good hands." -- Stan Sulzmann

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number SLR1977
Barcode 5052442009740
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 80g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 7mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Introduction 01:55
2. Buchaille 07:45
3. First Light 07:23
4. Prelude 03:47
5. Barefeet 06:05
6. Reflection 02:17
7. In Thought 06:49
8. Fragment 06:47
9. Withdrawal 02:56
10. Fool's Paradise 10:58
11. Last Light 03:03