It's Time For You To Return (LP)

Jozef Van Wissem

of discs
Stock Status (?)
Temp Out Of Stock
Delivery Estimate
5-10 days
Rock, Alternative
Crammed Discs
November 10, 2014

Format: Vinyl (LP)



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


The New York-based Dutch lutenist Jozef Van Wissem has been given wider exposure with the award-winning soundtrack he composed for Jim Jarmusch's film "Only Lovers Left Alive". As an avant-garde composer as well as a baroque lutenist, on this overtly melodic album he pushes the lute's agenda out of the academy and into more accessible circles. The vinyl edition includes a download code for the album.

Unusually, as well as the music, Van Wissem has written and performed hypnotic vocals for some of the nine compositions and on one he is joined by Jim Jarmusch, on guitar, and Lebanese singer Yasmine Hamdan. The album also features electronic programming on a couple of tracks.

Van Wissem has performed over 800 solo lute shows at concert venues around the world, including prestigious rock festivals like ATP, playing his unique all-black, custom-built baroque lute, and invariably fascinating the unsuspecting audiences. MOJO has written "you don't need to understand [his] compositional idiom to be mesmerised by his hall-of-mirrors instrumentals" and Wire Magazine has described an album as "a masterpiece."

He has recorded three albums with cult film director Jim Jarmusch (in his guitarist incarnation). This collaboration led to Van Wissem composing the soundtrack for Jarmusch's film, starring Tilda Swinton and Tom Hiddleston, which won the Cannes Soundtrack Award. He was also commissioned by London's National Gallery to compose a sound piece to Hans Holbein's painting "The Ambassadors" and has composed and performed lute and voice pieces for the Sims Medieval video game.

Personnel: Jozef Van Wissem (lutes, voice, words), Yasmine Hamdan (voice), Jim Jarmusch (guitar), Domingo Garcia-Huidobro (beats, glitch)

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number MTM40LP
Barcode 0876623007241
Number of items 1
Packaging type Slip Sleeve
Imported No
Weight 180g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 330mm x 3mm x 330mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1, Side 1

Song Title Time
1. If There's Nothing Left Where Will You Go? -
2. Love Destroys All Evil -
3. Once More With Feeling -
4. Confinement -

Track Listing — Disc 1, Side 2

Song Title Time
5. Wherever You Will Live I Will Live -
6. You Can't Take It With You -
7. Temple Dance Of The Soul -
8. After We Leave -
9. Invocation Of The Spirit Spell -