Melodies - Songs: en Francais and in English (2CD)

Julia Kogan & Isabelle Aboulker

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Classical, Chamber Music
First Hand Records
December 7, 2018

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


There is something for everyone in this collection of Isabelle Aboulker's most beautiful melodies, released in Aboulker's 80th birth year and sung here by soprano Julia Kogan. The passionate vocalises of Je t'aime sit alongside limpid fables by La Fontaine (The Crow and the Fox, The Lion in Old Age and more), while the unnerving eeriness of the merchant of souls in Au Marche de Saint-Paul contrasts with the light humour of the Savoir-vivre cycle, and the melancholy accents of Lettre d'amour make way for the irresistible charm of L'Inconstante. Isabelle's prosodic clarity and voluptuous focus on the evocative power of words speak of a deep attachment to the legacy of French song composers. In turn impetuous or melancholy, this thrilling music knows how to aim straight for the heart.

A double CD for the price of one, CD1 features songs in the original French with CD2 presenting the same songs sung in English. Released in Aboulker's 80th birth year, the album features the composer at the piano and many première recordings.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number FHR066
Barcode 5060216346366
Number of items 2
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 200g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Le Lion devenu vieux -
2. La Chatte metamorphosee en Femme -
3. L’Inconstante -
4. Savoir-vivre et usage mondain: a propos de la chaussette blanche? -
5. Savoir-vivre et usage mondain: comment on offre le bras? -
6. Savoir-vivre et usage mondain: et a propos de gants? -
7. Le Loup et l’Agneau -
8. La Femme qui craignait le tonnerre -
9. La Femme noyee -
10. Escale à Rio -
11. Au marche de Saint-Paul, j’irai -
12. La Cigale et la Fourmi -
13. L’Archet -
14. La Tortue et les deux Canards -
15. Tenir -
16. Lettre d’amour -
17. Le Corbeau et le Renard -
18. La Princesse au petit pois -
19. Couplets: Jusqu’au plaisir de nous revoir? -
20. Je t’aime: vocalise amoureuse pour soprano eperdue -

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
1. The Lion in old age -
2. The Cat transformed into a Woman -
3. The inconstant one -
4. Guide to fine etiquette and worldly manners: on the subject of white socks? -
5. Guide to fine etiquette and worldly manners: offering one’s arm? -
6. Guide to fine etiquette and worldly manners: and about gloves? -
7. The Wolf and the Lamb -
8. The Woman who feared thunder -
9. The drowned Wife -
10. Stopover in Rio -
11. I am off to the market day -
12. The Grasshopper and the Ant -
13. The Bow -
14. The Tortoise and the two Ducks -
15. Holding -
16. Love letter -
17. The Crow and the Fox -
18. The Princess and the pea -
19. Couplets: We certainly must meet again -
20. I love you: amorous vocalise for distraught soprano -