The Very Best of Julia Lee - My Man Stands Out and Other Innuendos

Julia Lee

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Blues, Soul/R&B
Jasmine Records
January 25, 2019

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Kansas City was a wide-open town in the 1920s and 30s with a famously corrupt Mayor. In that kind of environment of course creativity in music thrives. By far and away the most famous female artists to grow out of the city was pianist/singer Julia Lee who enjoyed a string of r&b chart hits, all of which are featured in this collection.

Most of her popularity rested on her risqué, double-entendre incorporated into the string of ribald songs she was associated with. Many of these songs have become staples of bar bands across the world. "My Man Stands Out", "I Didn't Like it the First Time" or "King Size Papa" amongst others still find themselves in song sets 70 odd years later.

These 27 tracks still sound good and relevant today, she had a powerful voice which could belt out a lyric as well as croon one. She wrote songs that retain their humour and played boogie piano like a proto rock and roller. There is no doubt that her records have been quite influential over the years and actually continue to be today.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number JASMCD3108
Barcode 0604988310825
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 10mm x 120mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Gimme Gimme Whatcha Got -
2. I'll Get Along Somehow -
3. (Opportunity Knocks But Once) Snatch And Grab It -
4. My Sin -
5. King Size Papa -
6. The Glory Of Love -
7. That's What I Like -
8. Tell Me, Daddy -
9. Christmas Spirits -
10. I Didn't Like It The First Time (The Spinach Song) -
11. Tonight's The Night -
12. My Man Stands Out -
13. Don't Come Too Soon -
14. Do You Want It? -
15. Decent Woman Blues -
16. Ugly Papa -
17. You Ain't Got It No More -
18. Oh, Chuck It (In A Bucket) -
19. You're Gonna Miss It -
20. Can't Get Enough Of That Stuff -
21. Scream In The Night -
22. I Know It's Wrong (The Diet Song) -
23. Goin' To Chicago Blues -
24. Last Call (For Alcohol) -
25. Kansas City Boogie -
26. Keep ‘Em Barefoot And Busy -
27. Scat You Cats -