Scribbled In Chalk

Karine Polwart

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Folk, Scottish Folk
Hegri Music
June 18, 2012

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Timely UK release of Karine Polwart's 2nd solo album, originally released on Shoeshine Records in 2006.

Featuring 12 brand new, beautifully-crafted, lyrical songs from a truly gifted artist, including live favourite "Daisy (There Are People)" - winner of Best Original Song at the 2007 BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards.

"Scribbled In Chalk" is the follow-up to Karine's acclaimed solo debut "Faultlines", which has gone on to sell over 20,000 copies. Karine also scooped the 2005 BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards with three wins - Best Album, Best Original Song (The Sun's Comin' Over The Hill) and Best New Artist.

Despite her recognition as an emerging talent, Karine is no novice, and her many years of apprenticeship on the folk-roots scene with traditional groups Battlefield Band and Malinky have made her a vibrant communicator in live performance.

In her writing, she combines the economy and universality of the folk storytelling tradition with the kind of probing intellect and lyrical attention to uncertainty you would expect from someone with a Masters degree in philosophical inquiry.

It's not just the folk scene that's taken notice. Roddy Woomble of Idlewild chose Start It All Over Again, co-written with her former bandmate John McCusker, as one of his Top Ten tracks of all time in NME, alongside classics by The Ramones and Lou Reed.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number HEGRICD02
Barcode 5052442002017
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Hole In The Heart -
2. I'm Gonna Do It All -
3. Daisy -
4. Maybe There's A Road -
5. Where The Smoke Blows -
6. Holy Moses -
7. Don't Know Why -
8. Take It's Own Time -
9. I've Seen It All -
10. Baleerie Baloo -
11. Terminal Star -
12. Follow The Heron -