A Little Magic, A Little Kindness - The Complete Mono Albums Collection (2CD)

Laura Nyro

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Pop, Soul/R&B
Real Gone Music
July 7, 2017

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Can you surry? Can you picnic? Laura Nyro, to use her own fanciful word, surried onto the scene 50 years ago with the release of her debut album More Than a New Discovery. Its title was certainly apt. Throughout the course of her life, Nyro wrote and introduced some of the most beloved popular songs of all time with her singular fusion of pop, jazz, R&B, soul, Broadway, and folk sounds. Real Gone Music and Second Disc Records are proud to celebrate the golden anniversary of Laura Nyro's debut with a landmark 2-CD collection. A Little Magic, A Little Kindness: The Complete Mono Albums Collection features, for the very first time on CD, both of Nyro's original mono albums newlyremastered by Vic Anesini at Sony's Battery Studios from the original master tapes. More Than a New Discovery, originally released on Verve Folkways in 1967, premiered the songs that Barbra Streisand, Blood Sweat and Tears, and The 5th Dimension would all take up the charts, including "Stoney End," "And When I Die," "Blowin' Away," and perhaps the most famous song Nyro ever wrote, "Wedding Bell Blues." This special edition restores the original album sequence and mono mix from the very first version of the album. In 1968, Nyro moved to Columbia Records for her most acclaimed album, Eli and the Thirteenth Confession. Its songs were once again adopted by other artists such as Three Dog Night, Frankie Valli, and of course, The 5th Dimension. Featuring "Eli's Comin'," "Emmie," "Sweet Blindness," and the era-defining "Stoned Soul Picnic," this ultra-rare album ? thought by many Nyro connoisseurs to be superior to the familiar stereo version ? also makes its maiden appearance on CD. A handful of bonus tracks round out this special package, including the Bones Howe-produced "pop" version of "Save the Country," and the CD debuts of the Verve "censored" single version of "Stoney End" and the single mix of "Eli's Comin'." The Second Disc's Joe Marchese provides new liner notes. A Little Magic, A Little Kindness: The Complete Mono Albums Collection pays tribute to one of pop's most enduring iconoclasts. It's a soul picnic you won't want to miss.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number RLGM05682PMI
Barcode 0848064005681
Number of items 2
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 120g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1, Side 1

Song Title Time
1. Goodbye Joe -
2. Billy’s Blues -
3. And When I Die -
4. Stoney End -
5. Lazy Susan -
6. Hands Off the Man (Flim Flam Man) -
7. Wedding Bell Blues -
8. Buy and Sell -
9. He’s a Runner -
10. Blowin’ Away -
11. I Never Meant to Hurt You -
12. California Shoeshine Boys -
13. Stoney End (Original Single Version with Alternate Lyrics) -

Track Listing — Disc 1, Side 2

Song Title Time
1. Luckie -
2. Lu -
3. Sweet Blindness -
4. Poverty Train -
5. Lonely Women -
6. Eli’s Coming -
7. Timer -
8. Stoned Soul Picnic -
9. Emmie -
10. Woman’s Blues -
11. Once It Was Alright Now (Farmer Joe) -
12. December’s Boudoir -
13. The Confession -
14. Eli’s Coming (Mono Single Version) -
15. Save the Country (Non-LP Single Version) -