Black Ark Classic Songs

Lee 'Scratch' Perry

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Ariwa Sounds
February 9, 2018

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


First time on CD/ Features 4 bonus tracks not available on Vinyl LP version / Classic Lee Scratch Perry tracks given the Lee Scratch Perry- Mad Professor treatment / Mad Professor Produced / Features Black Steel and the Panafricanist.

What more can really be said about the legend that is Lee Scratch Perry! He has been recording and producing music from the 1960's, 1970's, 1980's ,1990's and beyond in some cases even from outer space! Recent years have seen him collaborate with the Mad Professor.

Here presented to you for the very first time on CD is an extended version of the limited LP pressing released on ARIWA. The vinyl LP sold fast and for good reason as here we see Lee Perry and Mad Professor give some classic Perry cuts a dub over. Cuts like 'Zion Blood' are re-vamped and re-freshed from the version that appeared on Perry's Classic Super Ape LP. 'Moving On' is a Dubtastic take on the classic Lee Perry produced Bob Marley cut 'Keep On Moving' and 'Doctor Shit' see's Lee Perry re-visit an old Ska classic 'Doctor Dick'!

Lee Scratch Perry is the ultimate cameleon constantly changing with the times. He has played many roles, from singer, producer through to musician and engineer.

Some would say Lee Perrys most successful period was through the 1960's and 1970's and this is true but he has never stopped working, constantly touring, making records and producing when required.

Black Ark Classic Songs is a true testiment to a legend who has worked with 80% of the foundation reggae artists like Max Romeo, The Congos and Bob Marley.

Black Ark Classic Songs is Lee Perry at his very best. AGAIN.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number ARICD279
Barcode 5020145802791
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 42g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 6mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Zion Blood -
2. Run Obeah Run -
3. Egypt For My Ranson -
4. Doctor Shit -
5. Dub Fire (Exclusive to CD) -
6. Spirits Speak -
7. Telephatic -
8. No More Roast Fish -
9. Have Mercy -
10. Ready Lee (Exclusive to CD) -
11. Moving On -
12. Power Dub (Exclusive to CD) -