Dancing on Frith Street

Loose Tubes

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Jazz, Big Band
Lost Marble
September 27, 2010

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Previously unreleased live session recorded at Ronnie Scott's in 1990 by Loose Tubes, the innovative big band that brought together many of the leading young jazz musicians of the day.

With over 20 members, Loose Tubes was one of the biggest of big bands and it drew on a considerable pool of writing as well as playing talent: particularly from Django Bates, Eddie Parker, Steve Berry and Chris Batchelor. Its music was an exotic blend of jazz, rock and sundry world musics plus a substantial dash of British humour.

Founded in 1984 the group was a great concert draw and it released 3 albums, including one produced by Teo Macero, the producer of many of Miles Davis's classic albums. None of these albums have been available for many years so this CD of previously unreleased material will be welcomed by Loose Tubes' many thousands of fans.

Personnel: Eddie Parker (flutes), Dai Pritchard (clarinets), Steve Buckley, Iain Ballamy, Mark Lockheart, Julian Nicholas, Ken Stubbs (saxophones), Lance Kelly, Chris Batchelor, Ted Emmett, Paul Edmonds, Noel Langley (trumpets), John Harborne, Steve Day, Paul Taylor, Richard Pywell, Ashley Slater (trombones), Dave Powell (tuba), Django Bates (keyboards), John Parricelli (guitar), Steve Watts (bass), Martin France (drums), Thebi Lipere (percussion)

Press Quotes

(5 stars) The 21 tearaways in this fearlessly cutting-edge band, can look back at this scintillating 1990 session with pride.

Evening Standard, (Jack Massarik), October 1, 2010

(4 stars) Gleefully mixing swing and ska, Dolphy and Zappa...the seven compositions still sound fresh.

The Times, (John Bungey), October 9, 2010

(4 stars) Magnificent...hearing writing this original and stylistically broad played with such verve and excitement is a stone delight.

Jazzwise, (Duncan Heining), October 2010

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number LM005
Barcode 0873371000524
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 72g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 141mm x 8mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Yellow Hill (Bates) 07:21
2. Discovering Metal (Bates) 04:41
3. Last Word (Parker) 06:27
4. Shelley (Berry) 08:18
5. Godbucket (Bates) 04:54
6. Like Life (Bates) 06:36
7. Village (Batchelor) 08:34