of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
April 18, 2011

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Dazzling and beautifully-recorded third ECM album by Poland's Wasilewski Trio, one of the most resourceful piano trios of the present day and one which radiates an unmistakable joy in music-making. Their wide-ranging repertoire here includes five new tunes from the pen of Marcin Wasilewski and contemporary jazz classics by Paul Bley, Hermeto Pascoal, and Ornette Coleman. Plus, Hanns Eisler's "An den kleinen Radioapparat" and the jazz standard "Ballad of the Sad Young Men".

Produced by Manfred Eicher at Lugano's Auditorium SRI, it's a very natural and warm-sounding album that perfectly captures the trio's blend of energy and lyricism. There is space here for both the outgoing and the reflective, for profound composition and in-the-moment creativity.

In Poland, the Marcin Wasilewski Trio are stars of the national jazz scene. The group was formed by Marcin Wasilewski and Slawomir Kurkiewicz back in 1990, when they were just 15 years old. Drummer Michal Miskiewicz joined in 1993, and the line-up has been stable ever since. Polish jazz legend Tomasz Stanko supported and encouraged the group, integrating them in his quartet for the highly successful 'Soul of Things', 'Suspended Night' and 'Lontano', and declaring "In the entire history of Polish jazz, there's never been a trio like this one and they're getting better all the time." Out on their own, the group has made a big impact, and each of the previous ECM discs - 'Trio' and January - has also netted big praise from the international critics. Germany's Jazzthing called the trio "Jahrhundert-Talente" (talents of the century).

Personnel: Marcin Wasilewski (piano), Slawomir Kurkiewicz (double-bass), Michal Miskiewicz (drums)

Press Quotes

(4 stars) Their most rounded performance to date...should figure high among Critic's Picks of 2011.

Jazzwise, (Stuart Nicholson), June 2011

Another striking and unmissable session from this ultra-lyrical Polish trio.

Jazz Journal, (Michael Tucker), August 2011

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number 2759105
Barcode 0602527591056
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 11mm x 127mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. An den kleinen Radioapparat -
2. Night Train To You -
3. Faithful -
4. Mosaic -
5. Ballad Of The Sad Young Men -
6. Oz Guizos -
7. Song For Swirek -
8. Woke Up In The Desert -
9. Big Foot -
10. Lugano Lake -