The Definitive Collection

Martin Simpson

of discs
Stock Status (?)
Temp Out Of Stock
Delivery Estimate
5-10 days
Folk, English Folk
Highpoint Recordings
September 27, 2004

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Martin Simpson is simply one of the world's finest acoustic guitarists who figures in everybody's shortlist of the truly great players. A musician of extraordinary technical skill and versatility, he is at once unpredictable, individual and a player of great subtlety. He is also an accomplished singer who is equally at home with English and American songs. Twice winner of the BBC Radio 2 Folk Musician Of The Year Award, his Topic album "The Bramble Briar" also won Album Of The Year Award in 2002.

Now permanently resident in the UK, Martin plays up and down the country winning ever-expanding audiences for his accomplished blend of songs and instrumental virtuosity. "The Definitive Collection" draws on Martin's recordings for Topic and other labels, including tracks from exclusive anthologies. As a bonus it also includes an advance track from his next Topic release not due until 2005. Highlights include Bob Dylan's "Boots Of Spanish Leather", Richard Thompson's "Down Where The Drunkards Roll" and the traditional song "The Plains Of Waterloo". Over 75 minutes long and at a budget price, this is a must buy for all fans and newcomers alike.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number HPO6009
Barcode 0714822600927
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 86g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Moonshine 02:03
2. I Can't Keep From Crying Sometimes 02:03
3. Drives And Lazarus 02:03
4. Down Where The Drunkards Roll 02:03
5. Plans Of Waterloo/James Connolly 02:03
6. Road Kill 02:03
7. Lakes Of Ponchartrain 02:03
8. First Cut Is The Deepest 02:03
9. One More Day/Boots Of Spanish Leather 02:03
10. Nobody's Fault But Mine 02:03
11. The Keel Row 02:03
12. Rounding The Horn 02:03
13. Clark Saunders 02:03
14. Shawnee Town 02:03
15. Horn Island 02:03
16. Gone Fishing 02:03