Vagrant Stanzas

Martin Simpson

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Folk, English Folk
July 29, 2013

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


With 'Vagrant Stanzas' Martin Simpson makes a career defining statement - fourteen virtuoso solo, intimate performances captured in jewel-like recordings. A splendid intimate new recording from a world class finger-style guitar maestro.

In collaborate with some of the best producers and engineers in the business, including multi-Grammy Award winning mastering engineer, Silas Brown. The CD has been co-produced by Martin alongside American producer Peter Denenberg and, our own, Richard Hawley, who has produced the UK part of the CD in Sheffield, at the legendary Yellow Arch Studios. 'Vagrant Stanzas' is made up of a mixture of Martin's original compositions, including a song commissioned by BBC Radio 2 for their award winning Radio Ballads series, alongside classic songs by Bob Dylan, Leonard Cohen, Chris Wood, Leon Rosselson and, of course, the ubiquitous 'Anon' of Folk ballad fame.

Includes an 8 page booklet with extensive track notes by Martin Simpson.

Press Quotes

"He glides through covers of Dylan and Cohen, Scots ballads, old wartime laments and originals, all united by their humanity and Simpson's delicate touch"

Mail On Sunday ****

"Simpson is a one-man band"

Finacial Times Critics Choice ****

"Applies his dazzling fingerstyle technique to a broad range of material"

Independent Radar ****

"He has a unique abilty to make traditional tunes from both sides of the Atlantic sound like relatives only recently seperated"

Sunday Times On The Record

"It's intimacy powered by wondrous guitar"

Daily Mail ****

" are in the hands of a master instrumentalist – and singer"

Simon Broughton London Evening Standard *****


More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number TSCD589
Barcode 0714822058926
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 76g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 120mm x 8mm x 140mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Diamond Joe -
2. Jackie And Murphy -
3. Shepherds Rejoice -
4. Come Down Jehovah -
5. Molly As She Swings -
6. Palaces Of Gold -
7. Blue Eyed Boston Boy -
8. Delta Dreams -
9. Waly Waly -
10. 1North Country Blues -
11. Lorena -
12. Lady Gay -
13. Stranger Song -
14. Come Write Me Down -