of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Folk, Mediaeval
Talking Elephant
August 17, 2018

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


The Mediæval Bæbes are a British musical ensemble founded in 1996 by Dorothy Carter and Katharine Blake. It included some of Blake's colleagues from the band Miranda Sex Garden, as well as other friends who shared her love of medieval music. The lineup often rotates from album to album, and ranges from six to twelve members. As of 2010, the group sold some 500,000 records worldwide.

Each album features traditional medieval songs and poetry set to music, mostly arranged by Blake specifically for the ensemble, alongside varying numbers of original compositions. They sing in a variety of languages, including Latin, Middle English, French, Italian, Russian, Swedish, Scottish English, German, Manx Gaelic, Spanish, Welsh, Bavarian, Provençal, Irish, modern English and Cornish. Their vocals are backed by medieval instruments, including the recorder and cittern, played by the singers or fellow musicians.

In 2005, the Bæbes contributed Mediæval Bæbes music to the soundtrack of the BBC period drama The Virgin Queen, which portrays the life of Elizabeth I of England, including the title music, which is a poem written by Elizabeth set to music by Blake and in 2016, the group performed the theme song to the ITV TV series Victoria.

Undrentide is the third album by British vocal group Mediæval Bæbes. The band are nown for their interpretations of medievial music.

Produced by John Cale.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number TECD405
Barcode 5024879040528
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Original release date 26/08/2001
Weight 95g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 126mm x 6mm x 124mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Undrentide -
2. Isabella -
3. Quan Vey La Lauzeta -
4. Besse Bunting -
5. E Volentieri -
6. Cantiga -
7. Summerisle (The Maypole Song) -
8. Averil -
9. Secreit Nicht -
10. Now Welcom Somer -
11. Veni Coronaberis -
12. Omnes Gentes Plaudite (the Drinking Song) -
13. Quanquan Li Jorn -
14. At A Springe-wel -
15. Dance Of The Trolls -
16. Maiden In The Mor Lay -
17. E Volentieri (reprise) -
18. Palästinalied -