of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Jazz, Contemporary
Stoney Lane Records
January 26, 2015

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


The Mike Fletcher Trio brings together composer and multi-reedist Mike Fletcher on saxes and flutes, bassist Olie Brice (Paul Dunmall, Tony Malaby, Ken Vandermark) and renowned US drummer Jeff Williams (Stan Getz, Lee Konitz, Joe Lovano).

The Trio's distinctive sound draws inspiration from the jazz tradition and combines with it a contemporary approach to improvisation. The melody of each of the eight original compositions forms a basis from which the music evolves allowing the group to sculpt each piece into a unique work.

Developing a growing reputation and musical rapport since early 2014, the band begin touring Europe this autumn to promote their debut album Vuelta, released on January 26th on Stoney Lane Records, following a pre-release performance at The Barbican's Milton Court Concert Hall, part of the London Jazz Festival. This launches Mike's tour of 11 major European concert halls with his trio, after being selected to participate in the ECHO Rising Stars programme.

The album title 'Vuelta' Spanish for 'return' reflects Mike's close ties with Andalucía. The recording explores themes of experience and emotion from the atmospheric opening track, Aire ('air'), composed by the sea in Spain, which conjures images of light, freedom and space; to the closing work, Savour, a meditation on the re-discovery of a treasured personal experience.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number SLR1931
Barcode 5052442005872
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 5mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Aire 06:20
2. Her Grace 06:44
3. Fletcher's Walk 05:42
4. A Dino 04:32
5. Perhaps Sing A Song 08:11
6. Home 03:32
7. In Memoriam -
8. Savour 03:09