The Old Magic

Nick Lowe

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Pop, Rock
Proper Records
September 12, 2011

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


"I'm sixty-one years old now, Lord I never thought I'd see 30," Nick Lowe sings on "Checkout Time," a song from his first new studio album in over four years, 'The Old Magic,' set for September release on Proper. The line cuts right to the quick. For though he spent his 20s "busy not fitting into three successive movements: pub rock, punk and new wave", Lowe has mined fertile new creative ground in recent years and the eleven tracks on 'The Old Magic' dig deeper still.

'The Old Magic' was recorded in London with Lowe's crack backing band anchored by Geraint Watkins (keyboards), Steve Donnelly (guitar), and Robert Treherne (a.k.a. Bobby Irwin, drums). Additional musicians include Ron Sexsmith, Paul Carrack, and Jimmie Vaughan among others. The album was co-produced by Lowe, Neil Brockbank, and Treherne.

Amidst urbanely insistent grooves ("Sensitive Man"), and spare-yet-imposing shuffles (the aforementioned "Checkout Time"), 'The Old Magic' features three exceptional, recently road-tested Lowe ballads - album opener "Stoplight Roses," "House for Sale" and "I Read A Lot." Then there's "Restless Feeling," a shimmering dance tune worthy of the roller rink that Lowe wrote for a fictional band he calls Coastline. As is his custom, Lowe also peppers 'The Old Magic' with three covers - by Elvis Costello, Tom T. Hall and Jeff West - that fit seamlessly with his originals.

Press Quotes

"Master songwriter comes up lucky with LP number 13"

**** (4 Stars) Q Magazine

"Like a fine Nick Lowe continues to mature as a songwriter whilst others are withering on the vine"

**** (4Stars) The Independent

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number PRPCD085
Barcode 0805520030854
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 46g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 8mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Stoplight Roses -
2. Checkout Time -
3. House For Sale -
4. Sensitive Man -
5. I Read A Lot -
6. Shame On The Rain -
7. Restless Feeling -
8. The Poisoned Rose -
9. Somebody Cares For Me -
10. You Don't Know Me At All -
11. 'Till The Real Thing Comes Along -