Lost West End Revues - London's Forgotten Revues 1940-1962 (2CD)

Original London Cast Recordings

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Soundtrack, Musical
Stage Door
November 30, 2018

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Following the critically acclaimed release of 'Lost West End Vintage' (highlighted in The Sunday Times as an 'Essential New Release') and 'Lost West End Vintage 2', Stage Door continue their 'Lost West End' album series with 'Lost West End Revues'.

This 2-disc set celebrates London's forgotten revue shows of the 1940s, 50s and 60s, compiling songs from 35 West End productions and showcasing these unique musical works from the golden age of British theatrical entertainment.

Ranging from 1940 to 1962, the selections featured include a broad range of musical styles and genres, from witty numbers satirising topical issues of the era to dramatic ballads and entertaining comedy numbers, all showcasing the art of revue. Many prolific musical theatre composers feature on the album including Noel Coward, Vivian Ellis, Sandy Wilson, Lionel Bart, Leslie Bricusse, Charles Zwar, Alan Melville and more.

Presented as a Deluxe Edition 2CD set; 'Lost West End Revues' features over 50 tracks (including over 20 tracks appearing on CD for the first time) from London cast recordings to pop covers and live recordings. The album includes recordings by a glittering ensemble of star performers including Maggie Smith, Kenneth Williams, Hermione Gingold, Noel Coward, Beatrice Lillie, Joyce Grenfell, Anthony Newley, Gillian Lynne, Fenella Fielding, Sheila Hancock, Millicent Martin, Bud Flanagan, Dora Bryan, Cyril Ritchard, Bernard Cribbins and more.

Although the revue show is no longer a staple fixture in the West End, this album celebrates the forgotten art and affirms the 'lost' revues featured are well worth rediscovering.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number STAGE9058
Barcode 5055122190585
Number of items 2
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 115g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Let's Talk About Me (From 'look Who's Here!') 03:54
2. Colours (From 'share My Lettuce') 02:53
3. One Train He'll Come (From 'share My Lettuce') 04:01
4. The Borgias Are Having An Orgy (From 'sweet And Low') 03:21
5. Thanks Yanks (From 'sweeter And Lower') 02:45
6. Noel, Noel (From 'sweetest And Lowest') 03:24
7. Wait A Bit Joe (From 'sigh No More') 02:49
8. The Yodelling Goldfish (From 'big Top') 02:29
9. I Like Life (From 'tuppence Coloured') 02:23
10. Other People's Babies (From 'streamline') 03:12
11. Cold Comfort (From 'cranks') 02:15
12. Would You Let Me Know (From 'cranks') 02:26
13. Shadow Girl (From 'new Cranks') 03:39
14. Psychological Approach (From 'new Cranks') 04:58
15. We're Going To The Moon (From 'pieces Of Eight') 02:39
16. Out Door Girl (From 'pieces Of Eight') 03:49
17. I'm Beautiful (From 'one Over The Eight') 02:46
18. Send Me (From 'one Over The Eight') 02:08
19. Late Last Evening (From 'on The Brighter Side') 03:29
20. Little Nell (From 'on The Brighter Side') 03:53
21. Great Little World (From 'the Lord Chamberlain Regrets…!) 02:44
22. Where The Heart Is (From 'the Lord Chamberlain Regrets…!) 03:19
23. Strollin' (From 'clown Jewels') 02:37
24. Just For Laughts (From 'young In Heart') 02:08
25. Uproarious Devon (From 'four To The Bar') 01:58

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
1. Living For Pleasure (From 'living For Pleasure') 02:25
2. No Better Than I Should Be (From 'living For Pleasure') 05:17
3. Which Witch? (From 'sky High') 03:14
4. Old Girls (From 'a La Carte') 04:28
5. Keepsake (From 'penny Plain') 03:15
6. Maud (From 'penny Plain') 03:22
7. Only A Glass Of Champagne (From 'lights Up') 02:46
8. I Didn't Really Never Oughter 'ave Went (From 'lights Up') 02:17
9. I'm One Of The Whitehall Warriors (From 'up And Doing') 03:12
10. The Oldest Chorus Boy In London (From 'up And Doing') 02:41
11. Mademoiselle L'amour (From 'apple Sauce') 02:39
12. How's About (From 'rise Above It') 02:49
13. This Heart Of Mine (From 'rise Above It') 03:13
14. Moon Over London (From 'the Night And The Laughter') 03:05
15. It All Comes Back To Me Now (From 'the Shephard Show') 02:53
16. The Seine (From 'sauce Tartare') 03:21
17. Don't Make Fun Of The Fair (From 'the Lyric Revue') 03:06
18. Out Of The Blue (From 'out Of The Blue') 02:23
19. You'll Be Lucky (From 'you'll Be Lucky') 02:17
20. Folk Song (From '…and Another Thing') 02:59
21. My Kind Of Someone (From '…and Another Thing') 03:03
22. Not To Worry (From 'not To Worry') 02:00
23. Is There Anything I Can Do? (From 'not To Worry') 02:21
24. St. Tropez - On The Beach (From 'la Plume De Ma Tante') 02:46
25. The Gnu Song (From 'at The Drop Of A Hat') 03:03
26. The Hippopotamus (From 'at The Drop Of A Hat') 03:04