of discs
Stock Status (?)
Temp Out Of Stock
Delivery Estimate
5-10 days
Soundtrack, Film Soundtrack
Stage Door
September 2, 2016

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Rodgers & Hammerstein's classic film musical 'State Fair' first hit cinema screens in 1945; their only musical written especially for the big screen introduced such popular songs as "It's A Grand Night For Singing" and "It Might as Well Be Spring", which won the Academy Award for 'Best Song'. In 1962 'State Fair' was remade in a heavily revised and updated adaptation directed by José Ferrer. The new film musical starred Pat Boone, Bobby Darin, Ann-Margret, Tom Ewell, Pamela Tiffin and Alice Faye. The location of the orignal 'State Fair' had now moved from Iowa to Texas with the film being shot at the actual 1961 Texas State Fair. Due to Oscar Hammerstein's untimely death in 1960, Richard Rodgers wrote both music and lyrics for several additional songs for the new film.

The film's original soundtrack album (originally issued on DOT Records) now makes its debut on CD, digitally remastered from stereo reel to reel tape. The soundtrack album is coupled with 15 Bonus Tracks including solo pop recordings of the film's new songs by Pat Boone and Alice Faye, two 'State Fair' medleys performed by The Mike Sammes Singers and 11 instrumental tracks of the score presented by the 20th Century Strings Orchestra. The release continues Stage Door's COLLECTOR'S SERIES, a line of limited edition CD products presented in the retro style of a miniature long-playing record. All Collector's Series titles are limited to 500 units.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number STAGE2360
Barcode 5055122153702
Number of items 1
Packaging type Slip Sleeve
Imported No
Weight 28g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 125mm x 30mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Overture And Main Title "Our State Fair" 02:50
2. It Might As Well Be Spring 03:29
3. That's For Me 02:35
4. More Than Just A Friend 02:10
5. Isn't It Kinda Fun 04:49
6. Willing And Eager 03:02
7. Never Say No To A Man 02:25
8. It's A Grand Night For Singing 01:51
9. This Isn't Heaven 02:13
10. The Little Things In Texas 02:43
11. Our State Fair - Finale 02:24
12. Willing And Eager (Pop Version) 02:38
13. Never Say No To A Man (Pop Version) 02:54
14. 'State Fair' Medley - Part One 06:05
15. 'State Fair' Medley - Part Two 05:59
16. Overture (Instrumental) 03:21
17. It Might As Well Be Spring (Instrumental) 02:23
18. This Isn't Heaven (Instrumental) 01:50
19. It's A Grand Night For Singing (Instrumental) 03:02
20. Willing And Eager (Instrumental) 02:50
21. Never Say No To A Man (Instrumental) 02:07
22. Isn't It Kinda Fun (Instrumental) 02:22
23. More Than Just A Friend (Instrumental) 01:58
24. It's The Little Things In Texas (Instrumental) 02:13
25. That's For Me (Instrumental) 02:08
26. Finale (Instrumental) 02:10