This House Will Stand - The Best Of Oysterband 1998 - 2015 (2CD)


of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Folk, Rock
Navigator Records
May 27, 2016

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


'This House Will Stand : The Best of Oysterband 1998 - 2015' is a 2-CD, 29 track collection comprising 15 tracks chosen by the band from their last 6 studio albums (including 'Ragged Kingdom', their multi-award-winning reunion collaboration with June Tabor) and 14 unreleased tracks, rare B-sides, live cuts, demos and alternative versions of other Oysterband songs.

Oysterband has been one of the most consistently creative folk and rock bands of the past 38 years. Since their origins in 1977-1978 as the Oyster Ceilidh Band and their subsequent growth and constant development over the decades (sometimes wearing a more rock music mantle, sometimes a more folk/trad one), their musical vision has always burned bright. Following the critical and commercial success of 'Ragged Kingdom' (2011) and 'Diamonds On The Water' (2014), the band has been working on other projects including John Jones 'Never Stop Moving', story-telling tours by founder members Jones, Ian Telfer (fiddle) and Alan Prosser (guitar) as Oysters3, and the rebirth of their annual Big Session Festival in Buxton. This core membership of the band has been instrumental in the continuity of the Oysterband sound throughout these permutations and changes.

This new collection of recordings is drawn from one of the band's most creative and successful periods to date and offers not only key recordings but demos and alternative takes that offer a further, and essential, insight into the work of one of the folk scene's most vital forces.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number NAVIGATOR096
Barcode 0805520620963
Number of items 2
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 72g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. The Soul's Electric 03:45:00
2. Where The World Divides 03:35:00
3. Spirit Of Dust 04:40:00
4. Uncommercial Song 03:43:00
5. Blackwaterside 03:43:00
6. Street Of Dreams 04:46:00
7. Walking Down The Road With You 03:58:00
8. Love Will Tear Us Apart 03:30:00
9. Dancing As Fast As I Can (Single Edit) 03:56:00
10. Here Comes The Flood 04:23:00
11. A Clown's Heart 03:56:00
12. Rise Above 03:52:00
13. A River Runs 03:43:00
14. On The Edge 04:25:00
15. Bright Morning Star 03:17:00

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
1. I Built This House 03:34:00
2. Ways Of Holding On (Single Edit) 03:56:00
3. Jail Song Two (Live) 04:15:00
4. Never Left (Alt. Version) 03:17:00
5. Hangman Cry 03:56:00
6. And As For You (Alt. Version) 03:09:00
7. The Sailor's Bonnet 02:24:00
8. Mississippi Summer (Alt. Version) 04:29:00
9. Scattergun 01:32:00
10. Bold Riley (Alt. Version) 04:29:00
11. I Once Loved A Lass 04:29:00
12. She's Moved On (Demo) 03:13:00
13. Long Dark Street (Alt. Version) 03:58:00
14. The Cornish Farewell Shanty (Demo) 01:59:00