Nit De Nit


of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Jazz, Contemporary
Whirlwind Recordings
May 17, 2019

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


With an authority developed over two decades on the circuit, Partisans unleash their first live album, 'Nit De Nit', recorded at London's Vortex Club. Across this rezzed-up hour-plus of back-catalogue reinventions and new delights, electric guitarist Phil Robson, saxophonist Julian Siegel, electric bassist Thaddeus Kelly and drummer Gene Calderazzo command the stage with inimitable joie de vivre.

As writers and co-leaders, Robson and Siegel had long thought of releasing a live account of their dynamic shows: "We've played many memorable gigs over the years and wanted to capture that energy, in the great tradition of jazz recording." Their sound has evolved significantly from more acoustic origins - inspired along the way by the likes of Bill Frisell, John Scofield and Dave Holland's Extensions band - into the rock-heavy powerhouse it is today.

The tracks include the sidewalk-grooving 'That's Not His Bag' (after pandemonium boarding a flight) hints at Steely Dan; and 'Nit De Nit' (hear that call-and-answer) suggests Parker again, only to snap into impressively-synced frenzy and fast swing.

Siegel's shamelessly brash blues arrangement of 'John, I'm Only Dancing', from a classic Bowie songwriting era, indicates a massive Miles influence. Punky 'The Overthink' is titled following an official's reassurance to Siegel in boarding the right train: "Don't overthink it", while the guitar hues of 'Eg' (Egberto Gismonti) provide a Brazilian flavor. Swaggering mash-up 'Pork Scratching' features fine percussive detail and bass-pedal electronics.

Personnel: Phil Robson (guitar), Julian Siegel (tenor and soprano saxophone, bass clarinet), Thaddeus Kelly (bass), Gene Calderazzo (drums).

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number WR4738
Barcode 7061112741338
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 60g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 7mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Klact-Oveeseds-Tene Intro Max -
2. That's Not His Bag -
3. Nit De Nit -
4. John, I'm Only Dancing -
5. 3.15 (On The Dot) -
6. The Overthink -
7. Eg -
8. Pork Scratching -
9. Last Chance -