The Brightest Path

Patsy Reid

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Folk, Scottish Folk
Classy Trad Records
February 24, 2014

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


A new album from Patsy Reid is a rare and fine thing.

Her first solo recording since 2008, 'The Brightest Path' combines newly unearthed traditional Scottish melodies with soaring self-penned tunes and sublime contemporary songs, displaying the full breadth of Patsy's talents.

It was recorded in the remote Crear in Argyll (with a view overlooking Jura) with a core band of Ben Nicholls (double bass), Ewan MacPherson (guitars, mandolin and banjo), Signy Jakobsdóttir (percussion), Mhairi Hall (piano) and Mattie Foulds (drums). Playing live in such relaxed and beautiful surroundings gives 'The Brightest Path' an organic and natural sound, despite the virtuosity present throughout its 10 tracks.

The album also features a dreamlike performance from Fraser Fifield - who Patsy describes as "the saxophone version of me". For her part Patsy is a one-woman string quartet; playing violin, viola and cello as well as co-producing the record with Mattie.

She also sings: 'The River Princes' by the aforementioned Mr MacPherson, 'Half Acre' by Brooklyn band Hem and Patty Griffin's gorgeous 'Kite Song'.

"I love singing but I'm not a folk singer," Patsy explains. "So I took great care to find songs that I felt I had a right to sing."

Patsy has become one of the most admired and in demand musicians in the UK - performing and recording with Breabach, Kathryn Tickell, Zakir Hussain, Bella Hardy, Tim Edey, Treacherous Orchestra and too many more to mention.

With 'The Brightest Path' we finally have an album that is the complete and unique sound of Patsy Reid. Treasure it because? who knows when we'll get another?

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number CTREC002
Barcode 0799439087071
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 62g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 120mm x 8mm x 140mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Hooray Henry -
2. Donside -
3. The River Princes -
4. Thugainn -
5. A Prrecious Place -
6. Half Acre -
7. Bridge of Garry -
8. Lost in Green -
9. Kite Song -
10. The Baby Tune -