of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Folk, Jazz
April 28, 2017

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Quercus's self-titled ECM debut won the album-of-the-year award of the German Record Critics in 2013, was widely praised by the international press, and especially celebrated in Britain where June Tabor has long reigned as "the dark voiced queen of English folk music" (to quote The Times).

Folk and jazz and chamber music become one in Quercus's world, where recontextualizing of material is part of the process, prompting listeners to pay heightened attention even to familiar songs.

Nightfall opens with the most famous of farewells in "Auld Lang Syne", and gently breathes new life into it, leading us into a programme that includes Bob Dylan's "Don't Think Twice", the jazz standard "You Don't Know What Love Is" and the West Side Story ballad "Somewhere", as well as original compositions by Huw Warren and Iain Ballamy and songs from British folk tradition, in stark and moving new arrangements.

Personnel: June Tabor (voice), Iain Ballamy (saxophones), Huw Warren (piano)

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number 5743078
Barcode 0602557430783
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 280g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 143mm x 11mm x 128mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Auld Lang Syne -
2. Once I Loved You Dear (The Irish Girl) -
3. On Berrow Sands -
4. Christchurch -
5. You Don't Know What Love Is -
6. The Manchester Angel -
7. Don't Think Twice It's Alright -
8. Emmeline -
9. The Shepherd And His Dog -
10. The Cuckoo -
11. Somewhere -