Spirits From Another Time 1969-1971 (2CD)


of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Rock, Progressive Rock
Hux Records
May 27, 2016

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


This album is Hux Records' 150th release and also our most ambitious project by far.

Quintessence was the last great 'underground' band of the 1960s. Formed in March 1969, they were quickly signed to Island Records and later that year released their debut album, In Blissful Company. Between 1969-71, Quintessence, a counterculture phenomenon, made three albums for Island Records.

Now, recently sourced from Island's multi-track tapes and digitised at Abbey Road Studios, this packed 2CD set reveals a wealth of stunning, hitherto unheard recordings in pristine studio sound.

The 24 page booklet, with an 11,000 word liner note by Colin Harper, includes new interviews with the band's singer Phil 'Shiva' Jones, guitarist Dave 'Maha Dev' Codling and the band's original producer John Barham.

Press Quotes

"..occasionally stirring, sometimes naive, utterly of thier time, Quintessence dived into their moment with gusto....this allows the curious to conjure a couple of hours in their fragrant company.."

Mojo ****

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number HUX150
Barcode 0682970001500
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 120g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 10mm x 10mm x 10mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Notting Hill Gate -
2. Brahman -
3. Sea Of Immortality [version 1] -
4. Epitaph For Tomorrow -
5. Only Love [Take 3] -
6. Spirits From Another Time -
7. Untitled Guitar -
8. Hari Om -
9. Body -

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
1. Sea Of Immortality [version 2] -
2. Tree Of Life -
3. You Never Stay The Same -
4. Only Love [Take 2] -
5. Marwa -
6. Wonders of the Universe -
7. Maha Mantra -
8. Untitled Harpsichord -
9. Sunlit Kitchens -
10. Twilight Zones -
11. Move Into The Light -