Bridge Of Sighs

Ralph McTell

of discs
Stock Status (?)
Temp Out Of Stock
Delivery Estimate
5-10 days
June 4, 2007

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Originall released in 1986, "BRIDGE OF SIGHS" was Ralph McTell's first album of original songs in four years. Difficulties with his management at the time, however, meant it received little fanfare on release. Armed with a batch of new material, McTell assembled a crack team of muisicians to complete the recording.

These included friends Simon Nicol, Gerry Conway, Dave Swarbrick, Richard Thompson, Dave Pegg and Maartin Allcock. Anothr key addition was Cat Stevens' former right-hand man, guitarist Alun Davis. Whilst most of McTell's previous studio vocals were recorded separately, on this album they were captured live, with the two guitarists playing face to face. The resulting immediacy add greatly to the songs' impact and overall feel.

The bridge has long served as an apt metaphor for uniting separate parties. On this album, McTell presents us with 12 examples of people trying to connect on various levels. While these attempts vary in terms of success, they all serve to highlight McTell's keen understanding of the human condition and his ability to translate it into song.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number TPGCD27
Barcode 5060079130249
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 94g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Throw Out A Line And Dream -
2. Mr Connaughton -
3. The Girl from the Hiring Fair -
4. Choufleur -
5. Something the Matter With Mary -
6. Bridge of Sighs -
7. The Setting -
8. Little Actress -
9. Bad Girl -
10. Holiday Romance -
11. Dreams of You -
12. Words I Couldn't Say -