of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Jazz, Contemporary
OA2 Records
May 10, 2019

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


For his third OA2 recording, composer/pianist Rich Pellegrin presents his decade-old quintet performing five enigmatic compositions including the raw intensity of "Trial", the mystical, inscrutable hues of the title cut, "Down" and an extended alternate version of "Down," recorded with the contemporary classical Mizzou New Music Ensemble. Together, eleven diverse musicians create a radiant texture of interweaving lines, extending the vital, collaborative focus for which the band is already known.

"Strikingly original music...Phenomenally sensitive and expressive...Pellegrin is clearly an artist to watch." -- Earshot Jazz

Rich Pellegrin's playing is noted for its intensity, conviction, directness of expression, and percussive yet sonorous tone quality. His debut record, Three-Part Odyssey, was released on OA2 Records in 2011, and featured some of the most exciting and forward-looking musicians of Seattle's younger generation. His second record, Episodes IV-VI, has been called "strikingly original" by Earshot Jazz Magazine, "first class" by Midwest Record, and "a masterwork" by KUCI 88.9 FM (Irvine, CA). Both albums have received significant national and international airplay. His third record, Down, will be released in February 2019.

Having taught previously at the University of Washington and the University of Missouri, Pellegrin is currently on the faculty of the University of Florida. In 2014, he organized the Mizzou Improvisation Project, an interdisciplinary festival bringing together a wide range of scholars, performers, educators, improvisers, and composers. The festival included a collaborative recording session with his Seattle-based band and the Mizzou New Music Ensemble, material from which will be released on his next album.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number OA222163
Barcode 0805552216325
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Trial -
2. Birthright -
3. Down -
4. Acceptance -
5. Exile -
6. Down Introduction -
7. Down (feat. Mizzou New Music Ensemble) -