Acoustic Classics

Richard Thompson

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Beeswing Records
July 21, 2014

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Acoustic Classics, a collection of newly recorded timeless Richard Thompson songs, features 14 tracks culled from his 40 plus year music career. For the first time ever, acoustic versions of songs like "I Want To See The Bright Lights Tonight" and "Dimming of the Day" mingle with cornerstone classics like "1952 Vincent Black Lightning" and "Beeswing" as well as other acoustically rendered gems.

"I really wanted to have something that would reflect the acoustic shows," Richard explains, "But we didn't have anything like that. Just some old, slightly scratchy recordings of solo sets that I wasn't really happy with." His last proper solo acoustic release was the live Small Town Romance, and that was more than 30 years ago! In the meantime, the acoustic shows have evolved as a full parallel to his band tours.

Thompson was named by Rolling Stone Magazine's as one of the Top 20 Guitarists of all time and considered one of the UK's most outstanding songwriters and musicians. The recipient of a BBC Lifetime Achievement Award, Mojo's Les Paul Award and curator of the prestigious Meltdown Festival at the Southbank in 2010, Thompson was most recently honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriting by the Americana Music Association.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number BSW14
Barcode 5052442005612
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 36g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 5mm x 142mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. I Want To See The Bright Lights Tonight 02:57
2. Walking On A Wire 03:53
3. Wall Of Death 03:23
4. Down Where The Drunkards Roll 04:05
5. One Door Opens 03:46
6. Persuasion 03:54
7. 1952 Vincent Black Lightning 05:12
8. I Misunderstood 03:57
9. From Galway To Graceland 03:30
10. Valerie 04:24
11. Shoot Out The Lights 04:17
12. Beeswing 05:43
13. When The Spell Is Broken 04:20
14. Dimming Of The Day 03:19