Electric (2CD Deluxe Edition)

Richard Thompson

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Folk, Rock
Proper Records
February 11, 2013

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site



One of the UK's most outstanding songwriters, and an astonishing guitar player whose versatility allows him to adapt his style as each song requires. After taking the bold step of recording his last album of new songs live, when it came to recording ELECTRIC, Thompson turned to Buddy Miller (Robert Plant, Solomon Burke, Emmylou Harris. Patty Griffin) to produce, recording at Miller's home studio in Nashville, TN.

The record was recorded as an electric trio with Thompson, drummer Michael Jerome and bassist Taras Prodaniuk, who also sings background vocals. Guests on ELECTRIC include the legendary Alison Krauss who joins Thompson on "The Snow Goose", while English singer-songwriter Siobhan Maher Kennedy (formerly with River City People) adds vocals on several tracks as well. Fiddle great Stuart Duncan also plays on the record; one of America's leading bluegrass musicians he played on recent albums by Robert Plant/Alison Krauss and Elvis Costello.

Press Quotes

"Humming with creativity, buzzing with authenticity, a very special record indeed"

Prog Rock Magazine

"Homegrown collection with heartfelt vibes."

Record Collector (4*)

"...for fun, warmth, vigour and power, it's up there with his best"

Mojo (4*)

"Richard Thompson is Britain's very own Neil Young"

Q Magazine

"Folk-rock legend at the top of his game"

Uncut (9/10)

"Thompson's guitar tears through worlds and layers of sound with a bright and undiminished energy"

Songlines (4*)

"Richard Thompson is still at the top of his game, a remarkable guitarist and songwriter driven by a furious passion and urgency"

The Guardian (4*)


More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number PRPCDX108
Barcode 0805520111089
Number of items 2
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 76g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 5mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Stony Ground -
2. Salford Sunday -
3. Sally B -
4. Stuck On The Treadmill -
5. My Enemy -
6. Good Things Happen To Bad People -
7. Where's Home -
8. Another Small Thing In Her Favour -
9. Straight And Narrow -
10. The Snow Goose -
11. Saving The Good Stuff For You -

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
1. Will You Dance, Charlie Boy -
2. I Found A Stray -
3. The Rival -
4. The Tic-Tac Man -
5. Auldie Riggs -
6. Auldie Riggs Dance -
7. So Ben Mi Ch'a Bon Tempo -