Little Songs Of Heartache - Singles As & Bs: 1959-1962

Rose Maddox

of discs
Stock Status (?)
Delivery Estimate
Upon Release
Jasmine Records

Format: Compact Disc

This title will be released on July 26, 2019
Pre-order now!

Price Promise: Order now, and if the price is reduced before dispatch you will pay the lowest price



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


This Jasmine collection features many of the most popular numbers that Rose Maddox recorded in the first three years of her solo career, including the majority of her chart hits from 1959's 'Gambler's Love' onwards. Presented in the best possible sound, and from the best possible sources, it is a collection that no fan of late 50s/early 60s female country can afford to do without.

As Lefty Frizzell is deemed to be to be the father of modern country singing, the same thing can be said about Rose Maddox's abiding influence on women in country. From the age of 12, Rose and her brothers Cal, Fred and Henry were 'America's Most Colourful Hillbilly Band', with sister Rose's sometimes plaintive, sometimes sassy voice establishing a template that would be followed by many of the biggest female stars of the 1950s and beyond - among them Wanda Jackson, Skeeter Davis and Jean Shepard.

When the family act disbanded in 1957 Rose carried on as a solo in much the same vein, and exuded much the same influence over a next generation of country women. Her solo 45s also helped to usher in a new era of the Bakersfield Sound as exemplified by the records of Buck Owens (with who Rose performs in this collection) Wynn Stewart and, slightly later on, Merle Haggard.

Rose had been performing for almost a quarter of a century when she made these recordings but they were her first hits and they conclusively helped to usher in a new era for female country recordings.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number JASMCD3717
Barcode 0604988371727
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 10mm x 120mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Gamblers Love -
2. What Makes Me Hang Around -
3. Custer's Last Stand -
4. My Little Baby -
5. I'm Happy Every Day I Live -
6. I Lost Today -
7. Please Help Me I'm Falling -
8. Down, Down, Down -
9. Billy Cline -
10. Shining Silver, Gleaming Gold -
11. Kissing My Pillow -
12. I Want To Live Again -
13. Loose Talk - Buck Owens & Rose Maddox -
14. Mental Cruelty - Buck Owens & Rose Maddox -
15. Conscience I'm Guilty -
16. Lonely Street -
17. There Ain't No Love -
18. Your Kind Of Lovin' Won't Do -
19. Here We Go Again -
20. Fool Me Again -
21. Let's Pretend We're Strangers -
22. Take Me Back Again -
23. Sing A Little Song Of Heartache -
24. Ribbon In The Apple Tree -
25. Lonely Teardrops -
26. George Carter -