Cupid - The Very Best of Sam Cooke 1961-1962

Sam Cooke

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Soul/R&B, Rhythm and Blues
Jasmine Records
March 2, 2018

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


By far the most important and influential Gospel and secular R&B singer of his era, honey-voiced Sam Cooke is universally acknowledged as "The man who invented Soul." This compilation presents all eight singles plus the standout tracks from his five LPs issued during 1961-62, a period during which Cooke was particularly prolific, and hit his first creative peak.

It is the follow-up to an earlier Jasmine compilation, 'Wonderful World' (JASCD152), which traced Cooke's career from 1957-60.

Includes a number of his biggest, career-defining hits, notably "That's It - I Quit - I'm Moving On", "Cupid", "Twistin' The Night Away", "Bring It On Home To Me", "Havin' A Party", "Nothing Can Change This Love", "Somebody Have Mercy" and "Send Me Some Lovin".

Also includes his rarest-ever 45rpm release, "Just For You/Made For Me"; both sides are hard to find elsewhere on CD.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number JASCD991
Barcode 0604988099126
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 10mm x 120mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. That's It - I Quit - I'm Moving On -
2. What Do You Say -
3. Pray -
4. Goin' Home -
5. Cupid -
6. Farewell My Darling -
7. Feel It -
8. It's All Right -
9. Nobody Knows When You're Down And Out -
10. Baby, Won’t You Please Come Home -
11. You're Always On My Mind -
12. Just For You -
13. Made For Me -
14. Twistin' The Night Away -
15. One More Time -
16. Talkin' Trash -
17. Sugar Dumpling -
18. Twistin' In The Kitchen With Dinah -
19. A Whole Lotta Woman -
20. Movin' And A-Groovin' -
21. Soothe Me -
22. Bring It On Home To Me -
23. Having A Party -
24. Nothing Can Change This Love -
25. Somebody Have Mercy -
26. I'm Gonna Forget About You -
27. Send Me Some Lovin' -
28. Baby, Baby, Baby -
29. Chains Of Love -
30. Driftin' Blues -