The Trick Is To Breathe

Sid Griffin

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Country, Americana
Prima Records
September 22, 2014

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


"The Trick Is To Breathe" is the first solo album in a decade from Sid Griffin (The Long Ryders, The Coal Porters). After recording in the UK for most of the past two decades, Sid decided to do everything differently from his last solo album.

"Billy Bragg told me his last album was recorded by Joe Henry in just a few days out in Pasadena, California and I remembered Dylan did 'Nashville Skyline' in only a few days. So I contacted some Nashville cats I knew, they recommended Thomm Jutz as a producer, he and I hit it off, Thom picked most of the players and by the time I flew to Tennessee these folks knew my songs better than I did. Hence we started on Monday and were done by Thursday!"

"I recorded in the USA instead of Europe, I did not engineer, co-produce, or mix the album, on a few tracks I only sang, I put myself entirely in the hands of others, I did not use any of the Coal Porters' vast musical talents, I primarily used musicians I had not met before the sessions and I enjoyed myself thoroughly. Without question it was time for a change, time to shake things up."

Sid did play mandolin on two tracks, guitar on about six more, but the core of the band was Mark Fain from Ricky Skagg's Kentucky Thunder outfit on bass, the great virtuoso Sierra Hull on mandolin, Paul Griffiths on drums, Thomm Jutz on guitar, Justin Moses on banjo, fiddle and dobro, and gospel legend James T. Brown on backing vocals.

The Trick Is To Breathe announces Sid Griffin is back on the world stage as a solo artist, globe-trotting troubadour and singer-songwriter.

Sid says "Yes, I am an American who lives in Europe but my heart resides south of the Mason-DIxon and it shows on this album. I can't wait to tread the boards again and play these songs for the people."

Press Quotes

"Beyond the spontaneity and freshness of the arrangements, it's Griffin's innate skill as a storyteller that marks the album out as a high-water mark in a career that has always celebrated traditional American music with eloquence and boundless enthusiasm." - Terry Staunton (Americana Album of the Month)

Uncut (8/10)

"It's an elegant album, decorous mandolin and fiddle suiting Griffin's lean story-songs and emotional vignettes." – Nick Hasted

Classic Rock

"Griffin has been pushing the limits of country and bluegrass for a number of years and this is one more step on that road, the cloesest he's come to a mainstream album in a long while." - Nick Dalton

Maverick (4*)

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number SID026
Barcode 0793962000262
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 78g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 5mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Ode To Bobbie Gentry -
2. Blue Yodel No. 12 & 35 -
3. Circle Bar -
4. Between The General & The Grave -
5. Elvis Presley Calls His Mother After The Ed Sullivan Show -
6. Everywhere -
7. Get Together -
8. Front Porch Fandango -
9. Punk Rock Club -
10. Who's Got A Broken Heart -
11. We've Run Out Of Road -
12. I'll Forget You Very Well -