of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Honest Jon's Records
June 22, 2009

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Simone White is back with her second album for Honest Jon's, after the acclaimed release two years ago of 'I Am The Man', which included the 'The Beep Beep Song' which was used in an Audi advert.

On this album - Yakiimo has a more pared-down, western sound. The mood is bitter-sweet and nostalgic, but spiced with longing, fantasy and hopefulness, musing in a daze (sometimes child-like) on lost love, lost innocence, lost years. Marked by high and lonesome fiddle and some lovely guitar-picking, strikingly centre-stage are Simone's beautiful voice, and the magnificentsong-writing, with four new originals by her friendsFrank Bango and Richy Vesecky, and seven by Simone herself.

Hawaii born Simone White was a part of Damon Albarn's critically acclaimed 'Honest Jons Revue' which toured in July 2008 to the Barbican Center in London, Les Nuits Fourviere Festival in Lyon, and the Lincoln Center Festival in New York City. The Honest Jons Revue included the artists Tony Allen, The Hypnotic Brass Ensemble, Damon Albarn, Kokanko Sata Doumbia, Lobi Traore, Afel Bocoum, Candi Staton, Simone White and Victoria Williams.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number HJRCD44
Barcode 4047179298223
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Bunny In A Bunny Suit -
2. Candy Bar Killer -
3. Victoria Anne -
4. Baby Lie Down With Me -
5. Yakiimo -
6. A Girl You Never Met -
7. Without A Sound -
8. Train Song -
9. Your Stop -
10. Olivia 101 -
11. Let The Cold Wind Blow -
12. St. Louis Blues -