My Halo At Half-Light


of discs
Stock Status (?)
Temp Out Of Stock
Delivery Estimate
5-10 days
Folk, Rock
September 26, 2011

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Ten years since Snakefarm made their debut with the widely praised Songs From My Funeral they reappear with the equally scintillating 'My Halo At Half-Light'.

As a solo artist, Anna Domino released four remarkable albums and two EP's for the Belgian label Les Disques du Crepuscule, between 1984 and 1990. Those recordings are often cited as major influences on the British trip-hop movement centred around Massive Attack and Portishead. Yet, the glorious New York summer afternoon that Snakefarm crept into her consciousness, Domino knew she'd found a whole new musical window to leap through - "I was waiting for the light", and said "We should take a bunch of those great old songs about murder and such, and start doing them with modern arrangements." The idea refused to sit still, and as soon as she returned home, Domino and Delory set to work on the experiment. "Just to see what would happen." Though subtle percussion and loops had distinguished her earlier recording, in Snakefarm Anna wanted the beats to be more prominent, yielding percolating arrangements that could carry the narrative content of the words. It worked. "It was so much fun," confesses the singer, "the arrangements almost wrote themselves. What surprised me was how it didn't take any forcing at all."

'My Halo At Half-Light' continues where the previous album left off and features scintillating arrangements that bring these stories from our collective past into the sunlight of today."

Domino's stunning vocals are the high point of this unexpected gem, a voice that is at once smoky and crisp, somber and wickedly stormy, perfectly matched to the task of bringing new and disturbing life to such overworked material."

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number FLED3086
Barcode 5020393308625
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 52g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 125mm x 5mm x 140mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Little Maggie -
2. Johnny -
3. Staggerlee -
4. Sadie -
5. The Lady O -
6. Omie Wise (you Forgot To Answer) -
7. Darlin' Corey -
8. Marbletown Girl -
9. The Bachelor -
10. Michael -