of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Jazz, World Music
March 15, 2019

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Four years after the critically lauded Eight Winds on ECM the Athens-based Sokratis Sinopolous Quartet returns with the aptly-named Metamodal.

A unique band, the quartet subtly sifts a vast pool of influence, its music informed by the players' experience of folk forms, Byzantine and classical music, and many modes of improvising. The combination of Sinopoulos's lyra, with its yearning, ancient tones, and the sensitive, modern piano of Yann Keerim is particularly beguiling, and the group as a whole has made giant steps since its debut.

Metamodal, featuring new pieces by Sokratis and a concluding collective improvisation, was recorded in July 2018 at Sierra Studios in Athens, and produced by Manfred Eicher.

Personnel: Sokratis Sinopoulos (lyra); Yann Keerim (piano); Dimitris Tsekouras (double bass); Dimitris Emmanouil (drums)

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number 7702553
Barcode 0602577025532
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 108g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 126mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Lament -
2. Metamodal I - Liquid -
3. Transition -
4. Metamodal II - Illusions -
5. Metamodal III - Dimensions -
6. Walking -
7. Dawn -
8. Red Thread -
9. Mnemosyne -