of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Jazz, Contemporary
September 29, 2014

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


An impressive collaboration between two saxophone players: Holland's leading female saxophonist Tineke Postma and USA jazz star Greg Osby. On 'Sonic Halo' Osby's energetic modern sound combines beautifully with the melodic European influences of Tineke, and they are backed by a superb rhythm section.

The line-up is spiced with modern jazz and Indian rhythms of the drummer Dan Weiss, improvisation master pianist Matt Mitchell and a young bass virtuoso Linda Oh. Greg was Tineke's mentor once, now Greg admits they are peers and he has a lot to learn from her. It is a multicultural project uniting the greatest young musicians from the NYC scene, the Netherlands and Australia. Every musician in this group with his/her cultural background will have an equal input. It's a true cultural exchange in knowledge, approaches and concepts.

Personnel: Tineke Postma (alto and soprano saxophones), Greg Osby (alto and soprano saxophones), Matt Mitchell (piano, Rhodes), Linda Oh (bass), Dan Weiss (drums)

Press Quotes

(4 stars) Sonic Halo is compositionally diverse...It is imaginative, accomplished contemporary jazz from an A-list group.

The Guardian, (John Fordham), October 9, 2014

Seriously engaging set featuring the soprano saxophones of Osby and Postma...Add to this great collaboration the crack line-up of Mitchell, Oh and Weiss, and now we're talking all kinds of riveting lines of communication going on. I try to keep these album synopses short and to the point; this album is challenging me not to spend the next 500 words raving about it.

Wondering Sound, (Dave Sumner), October 9, 2014

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number CR73370
Barcode 0608917337020
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Bass Linda Oh
Drums Dan Weiss
Piano Matt Mitchell
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Sea Skies -
2. Facets -
3. Source Code -
4. Where I'm From -
5. Nine Times a Night -
6. Bottom Forty -
7. Melo -
8. Body and Soul -
9. Pleasant Affliction -