Levee Town (2CD)

Sonny Landreth

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Blues, Rock
Proper Records
May 4, 2009

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Sonny Landreth is a one-of-a-kind slide guitarist. His unique Zydeco/ blues/ swamp- rock style has allowed him to collaborate with artists as diverse as Clifton Chenier, Mountain and Mark Knopfler. Sonny's talent has been compared to some masterful contemporaries such as Ry Cooder and David Lindley, and on "Levee Town" Sonny reaches the pinnacle of his career, it is an amazing musical and poetic tale of life in Louisiana. Every song is a Sonny original and "Levee Town" boasts the strongest vocal performance of Sonny's career to match his guitar virtuosity.
Track listing:
CD1 - Levee Town/This River/The U.S.S. Zydecoldsmobile/Love And Glory/Broken Hearted Road/Spider-Gris/Godchild/Turning With The Century/Z. Rider/Soul Salvation/Angeline/Deep South.
CD2 - Bonus Disc - Pedal To Metal/For Who We Are (The Night Bird Sings)/Old Flame/Road A Plenty/Fare You Well.

Also Available: From The Reach (PRPCD037), Grant Street (SHCD3994), The Road We're On (SHCD3964).

Press Quotes

"..,probably the most underestimated musician on the planet."

Eric Clapton

"Levee Town was a landmark for Landreth, consolidating his positiol as the Satriani of slide...Sonny's genius is exposed."


"He is held in near-unparalleled esteem by musicians across the globe for his seemingly effortless ability to meld guitar technique and tone..."

*** (3 Stars) Rock N Reel

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number PRPCD048
Barcode 0805520030489
Number of items 2
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 104g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Levee Town -
2. This River -
3. The U.S.S. Zydecoldsmobile -
4. Love And Glory -
5. Broken Hearted Road -
6. Spider-Gris -
7. Godchild -
8. Turning With The Century -
9. Z. Rider -
10. Soul Salvation -
11. Angeline -
12. Deep South -

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
1. Pedal To Metal -
2. For Who We Are (The Night Bird Sings) -
3. Road A Plenty -
4. Old Flame -
5. Fare You Well -