All Things Are Quite Silent ~ The Complete Recordings 1970-71 (3CD)

Steeleye Span

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Cherry Red
April 26, 2019

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


A folk rock institution for the last five decades, Steeleye Span's lengthy and illustrious history is studded with significant achievements, hit records, industry awards and sell-out gigs. Nevertheless, it's generally acknowledged by critics and fans alike that, in artistic terms, their most enduring legacy lies with the triptych of early 1970s albums that they recorded prior to founder member and folk rock legend Ashley Hutchings opting to leave the band that he'd quit Fairport Convention to painstakingly put together.

Charting the early development of one of British folk rock's most important and iconic acts, All Things Are Quite Silent brings together those three classic albums and adds several additional studio recordings from the same timeframe, including three versions of the group's witty a cappella revamp of rock'n'roll classic 'Rave On'.

All three albums are presented in miniature facsimile sleeves, while the set is housed in a clamshell box that contains a 32-page booklet featuring rare photos, interview quotes and a lengthy essay on Steeleye's early days.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number CRTREEBOX022
Barcode 5013929692206
Number of items 3
Packaging type Clamshell
Imported No
Weight 145g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. A Calling-On Song -
2. The Blacksmith -
3. Fisherman’s Wife -
4. Blackleg Miner -
5. Dark-Eyed Sailor -
6. Copshawholme Fair -
7. All Things Are Quite Silent -
8. The Hills Of Greenmore -
9. My Johnny Was A Shoemaker -
10. Lowlands Of Holland -
11. Twa Corbies -
12. One Night As I Lay In My Bed -

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
1. The Blacksmith -
2. Cold, Haily, Windy Night -
3. Jigs: Bryan O'lynn/The Hag With The Money -
4. Prince Charlie Stuart -
5. Boys Of Bedlam -
6. False Knight On The Road -
7. The Lark In The Morning -
8. Female Drummer -
9. The King -
10. Lovely On The Water -

Disc 3

Track Listing — Disc 3

Song Title Time
1. Gower Wassail -
2. Jigs: Paddy Clancey's Jig/Willie Clancy's Fancy -
3. Four Nights Drunk -
4. When I Was On Horseback -
5. Marrowbones -
6. Captain Coulston -
7. Reels: Dowd's Favourite/£10 Float/The Morning Dew -
8. Wee Weaver -
9. Skewball -
10. General Taylor -
11. Rave On (Fake Scratch Single) -
12. Rave On (Alternative Version #1) -
13. Rave On (Alternative Version #2) -