Wintersmith (2CD Deluxe Edition)

Steeleye Span

of discs
Stock Status (?)
Temp Out Of Stock
Delivery Estimate
5-10 days
Christmas, Folk, English Folk
Park Records
October 27, 2014

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Steeleye Span are re-releasing Wintersmith as a Deluxe 2 CD package complete with four brand new songs, 8 live tracks and 2 demos!

Wintersmith saw Steeleye Span collaborate with Sir Terry Pratchett on a brand new project, a record based on Pratchett's Wintersmith novel. The subject matter completely appropriate for Steeleye, a tale of ancient rituals and secret folk dances that perfectly complements their previous work whilst taking it in new directions.

Such a record needed a special touch to do it justice and the band found just this in the guise of Chris Tsangarides, A producer with a CV that includes the likes of Thin Lizzy, Judas Priest, Black Sabbath and Gary Moore as well as Tom Jones, New Model Army and Depeche Mode, Chris has brought his special talents to mixing the album - harking back to their classic sound and picking up where recent releases They Called Her Babylon and Bloody Men left off.

With special guest appearances from Northumbrian piper Kathryn Tickell, Bellowhead's John Spiers and Pratchett himself providing spoken word Wintersmith - their fifth long player in less than a decade - is an album to delight long term fans and reinforce Steeleye Span's status as legends of British music.


More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number PRKCD138
Barcode 0769934013820
Number of items 2
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 122g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Overture 02:09:00
2. The Dark Morris Song 04:01:00
3. Wintersmith 04:37:00
4. You 03:24:00
5. The Good Witch 03:49:00
6. Band Of Teachers 03:46:00
7. The Wee Free Men 02:17:00
8. Hiver 03:25:00
9. Fire & Ice 05:13:00
10. The Making Of A Man 04:03:00
11. Crown Of Ice 04:05:00
12. First Dance 04:44:00
13. The Dark Morris Tune 05:30:00
14. The Summer Lady 03:54:00
15. Ancient Eyes 04:38:00
16. We Shall Wear Midnight 04:09:00

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
1. To Be Human -
2. Be Careful What You Wish For -
3. Granny Aching -
4. Just One Heart -
5. You (Live) -
6. Ancient Eyes (Live) -
7. The Dark Morris Tune (Live) -
8. The Dark Morris Song (Live) -
9. The Making Of A Man (Live) -
10. Crown Of Ice (Live) -
11. Summer Lady (Live) -
12. We Shall Wear Midnight (Live) -
13. Ancient Eyes Demo -
14. The Fee Free Men Demo -